Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

News


Trilobita-Banner
Enrolment

Palaeozoic suits of armour

Flexicalymene meeki Naturally, trilobites were not the only existing life form in the world’s ancient oceans. Apart from the threats from enemy predators they often faced hazardous environmental conditions: volcanic activities, storms, mud slides (to which we seem to owe a great amount of fossilized trilobites) and other rigours of nature. Both factors – natural enemies and treacherous habitats – made it necessary for our little bugs to develop appropriate survival strategies, the most effective of which undoubtedly being the capability of enrolment by the means of which all vulnerable parts of the trilobite body, namely all areas that were not covered by the protective exoskeleton, could be retracted into a sort of compact capsule.

Paradoxides gracilis Due to the very flexible construction of the thorax, consisting of several rigid segments, yet moveable against each other, many trilobites were capable of hermetically encapsulating all of the more fragile body parts like legs and antennae within the hard shell of the carapace whenever deemed necessary. In order to do that they activated internal muscular structures that controlled the elastic tissue between the inflexible thoracic segments in such a way that cephalon and pygidium converged towards each other. The defensive tactics of recent pill bugs are by no means a new invention!

When enrolment was successfully completed, predators and nature were left with a hard, rigid and sometimes, due to the peculiarities of some taxa, very spinose calcite capsule offering almost no weak points that could be deliberately attacked. No wonder many trilobite genera show a very similar shape in their head and tail shields.

Having said that: It would appear that not all members of the trilobite class were capable of using this defensive strategy. In particular the very early, so-called “primitive” trilobites of the Cambrian (e.g. the Paradoxides as shown on the right) display a morphology which places doubt on their capability of enrolment or at least makes it appear less likely, if not entirely impossible (see remarks on “partial enrolment” below). Many of the early Redlichiids were comparably large trilobites and predators in their own right which did not have to be afraid of a large spectrum of natural enemies. In the course of the Ordovician and Silurian, however, many taxa had adapted enrolment as an effective method of defence against a whole range of perils.

Some trilobites, in particular representatives of the Phacopidae group but not restricted to it, reached perfection in enrolment by developing specific morphological structures, the so-called vincular furrows, a groove to accommodate the edge of the pygidium and thoracic pleurae, pretty much in the way that modern tongue and groove panels work. A Palaeozoic “click”-system! ;-) These coaptative structures mark an evolutionary highlight in the morphological development of trilobites and in connection with the schizochroal eyes of the Phacopina account for the prominent position of this suborder within the class of the trilobita.

I freely admit that this statement may just be a reflection of my personal preference for the Phacopina. The often very large eyes with easily visible lenses, the prominent glabella and very convex carapace gives them a very unique character. Among the wide range of different and divergent trilobite taxa, the Phacopidae are the very dearest to my heart, even if for the most part they do not come as spectacular as some of the spiny Lichids. Phacops, Reedops, Drotops, Kainops and company are my best of friends! If you ever split a rock and were lucky enough to suddenly look into the eye of such a trilobite you might understand what I am trying to say. No offence to Richard Fortey, but I think they make for a more impressive encounter than early Redlichiid trilobites with their narrow, sickle-shaped, holochroal and often vertically compacted eyes, as described in his great book “Trilobite – Eyewitness to Evolution”. ;-)

Barrandeops granulopsBarrandeops granulopsBarrandeops granulopsEnrolment in the Phacopid trilobite Barrandeops granulops (CHATTERTON et al., 2006) from the Lower Devonian Timrhanrhart Formation of Zguilma, Southern Morocco. Cephalon and pygidium interlock perfectly by means of the vincular furrow, thereby sealing off all soft body parts inside a rigid capsule. This particular specimen is 0.6 inch wide. Found by Dieter Holland.

Fossilized remains of completely enrolled Phacopids like this beautifully preserved specimen from Devonian sediments at Jbel Zguilma, Morocco, are by no means rare. This can be accounted for not only by favourable environmental conditions during diagenesis or the Phacopids’ preference for enrolment but also by the overall abundance of these taxa in some local fossil records.

We can see countless specimens of enrolled or rather ‘collapsed’ Agnostids from Cambrian rock strata (with only two or three thoracic segments the term “enrolment” should not be stressed too much) and witness enrolment among common Ptychopariid trilobites like Ellipsocephalus, locally found in large numbers in the Barrandian of Bohemia.

As early as 1852, BARRANDE distinguished between three different types of enrolment and all of them made it to the 1959 Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology and following publications: sphaeroidal , double, and discoidal. Differences can be found in particular in the morphological aspects that enable or disable a particular taxon to perform the process of enrolment to varying degrees of completion.

- Sphaeroidal enrolment denotes a process in which, by more or less equal participation of all available thoracic segments, the trilobite body bends in such a way that all vulnerable extremities are completely enclosed inside a ball-like capsule. Candidates for this type of enrolment can be found among isopygous and macropygous trilobites. Our Barrandeops shown above is a prime example for this type of enrolment, without doubt the most perfect.

- Double enrolment denotes a process in which the trilobite bends in such a way as to not only shield its pygidium but also some of the posterior thoracic segments under the cephalon, i.e. the pygidium does not interlock with the cephalon but curls up underneath it. This can be observed in many of the early Cambrian trilobites, for example among the Ellipsocephalidae which we have already mentioned. BERGSTRÖM (1973) had good reason to call this type “spiral enrolment”.

- Discoidal enrolment is defined as a process in which the trilobite bends but the anterior part of the thorax, using the posterior part and pygidium as a sort of inverted lid. Examples mentioned include in particular trilobites of the order Harpetida as well as some trinucleid species. Again, all vulnerable parts could be sufficiently shielded, the thorax performing an enormously narrow radius within a very restricted area. At first glance it would appear as if this put a big strain on the cephalic region (image no. 2 seems to show a downward arched cephalic border). But since we assume that the carapace was rigid and hardened, this may just be an optical distortion! ;-).

Harpes sp.Harpes sp.Harpes sp.Enrolment in the Harpetid trilobite Harpes sp. from the Devonian of Southern Morocco. Despite the very peculiar morphology of the cephalic shield, the pygidium manages to attach itself to it perfectly. Trilobite prepared by Dieter Holland.

The main difference between the sphaeroidal and discoidal type of enrolment can be found in the fact that in the latter the posterior part of the thoracic region including the pygidium remains more or less unbent which can easily be seen from the first image of our Harpes. Drawing a line between two such similar types may look a little wiredrawn at first, but is justified by the fact that the different types of enrolment have been considered as a potential method of classification by prominent trilobite workers.

Another type as yet unmentioned is what we call incomplete enrolment. This type can frequently be found in early spinose Olenelloids and Paradoxidoids and denotes a process in which the pleurae are incapable of completely enclosing the ventral parts due to the trilobite’s overall morphology, leaving a breach in an otherwise very good line of defence. However, with the pointed pleural spines protruding outward, this vulnerable clearance is still defended properly against enemy predators. BERGSTRÖM used to call this variant cylindrical enrolment in following the shape of that classical headgear.

As already indicated, some workers considered focusing on the different types of enrolment a potential method of classification in trilobites, especially in the 1970s. However, with an almost unlimited variability within the aforementioned types, accounted for by the wide range of different morphological peculiarities within the class trilobita, specialists soon came to conclude that this very variability rendered the whole idea unsuitable for higher level classification. The differences observed being regarded as insignificant and therefore negligible, enrolment never made it past being considered as of just limited use. This opinion was reflected in the 1997 revision of the Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology and to the best of my knowledge has not been seriously questioned in the last decade.

Anomalocaris sp. That fact notwithstanding, enrolment remains a fascinating aspect in trilobite research and it is always a great experience to unearth a perfectly enrolled specimen, regardless of what genus or species it belongs to.

In the opening paragraph of this site, we mentioned that trilobites had to face a range of perils. Apart from geological and meteorological hazards, natural enemies must have been the most decisive factor endangering the survival of our bugs. Now, do we know which animals preyed upon our beloved little creatures? It has to be said that we don’t know all too much yet about the predators roaming the water column or looming on the sea floors chasing after our multi-legged friends. Unfortunately the fossil record seems to be very scarce. (This could also indicate that different trilobite taxa may have preyed upon each other!)

Eurypterus remipes Anomalocaris , a predator first found by Charles Doolittle Walcott in Cambrian rock strata of the Burgess Shale in British Columbia, a thick exposure of dark, occasionally fossiliferous shale exposed high in the Canadian Rocky Mountains near Burgess Pass, seems to have snacked on trilobites regularly (as a matter of fact it took quite some time until the impressive, roundish jaw apparatus was identified as what it actually was – Walcott originally thought it to be the remains of some sort of jellyfish).

Eurypterids, a group of sea scorpions related to arachnids, which include the largest known arthropods that ever lived (up to 6 ft 7 in) and which thrived in warm shallow water in the Ordovician to Permian, surely took their toll on trilobites. As we already noted, there also seems to have been a pattern of trilobites preying on trilobites. Paradoxides appears to have had a taste for smaller, benthic species. Substantial evidence for trilobites being prey can be found in a large amount of fossilized carapaces showing distinct bite marks, sometimes partially healed, indicating that these animals were capable of surviving even significant losses as long as no vital parts had been affected by the attack. All in all, our little bugs must have been a real tough kind of breed! Surely one more reason why they managed to survive for an unbelievable 300 million years.

Whether trilobites used to enroll in the course of natural death can not be proven beyond all doubt. It is regularly assumed that enrolment was a protective strategy to begin with rather than a position taken when death was imminent. Naturally, this assumption does not exclude our arthropods having been killed while following their natural instincts of self-protection, e.g. buried under tons of sediment in a submarine landslide set into motion across the continental shelves in the world’s ancient oceans.

Recommend our web site!

Last Update : 01/30/2010 5:02 PM

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Einrollung

Ritterrüstung aus dem Erdaltertum

Flexicalymene meekiTrilobiten waren in den urzeitlichen Meeren des Planeten nicht die einzige Lebensform und zudem mitunter gefährlichen Umwelteinflüssen ausgesetzt (vulkanische Aktivitäten, Stürme, marine Schlammlawinen - denen wir wohl einen Gutteil aller Fossilien von Trilobiten verdanken - und andere Unbill der Natur); zwei Faktoren, die es notwendig machten, entsprechende Überlebensstrategien zu entwickeln. Die weitaus effektivste war dabei das Einrollen des Trilobiten unter Rückzug aller vom Exoskelett nicht geschützten und damit weichen Extremitäten in eine Art von kompakter Kapsel.

Paradoxides gracilisAufgrund des flexiblen Baus des Thorax, mit seinen zahlreichen, gegeneinander beweglichen Segmenten, war es vielen unserer Arthropoden möglich, alle gefährdeten Teile wie Beine und Antennen innerhalb ihres harten Außenpanzers bei Bedarf mitunter vollständig und hermetisch abzuschließen. Dazu benutzen sie interne Muskeln, die das flexible Gewebe zwischen den starren Thoraxsegmenten derart steuerten, daß Cephalon und Pygidium sich einander annäherten. Das Abwehrverhalten rezenter Rollasseln ist also keineswegs eine neuere Erfindung!

Zurück blieb eine harte, manchmal aufgrund gattungstypischer Bestachelung zudem noch sehr wehrhafte Kalzitkapsel, die Freßfeinden oder Umwelteinflüssen nur noch wenig und zudem widerstandsfähige Angriffsfläche bot. Es ist daher nicht weiter verwunderlich, daß viele Gattungen einen durchweg ähnlichen Aufbau von Kopfschild und Pygidium aufweisen.

Es scheint jedoch, daß nicht alle Trilobiten zu allen Zeiten fähig waren, diese Schutzmechanismen anzuwenden. Speziell manche der frühen "primitiven" Trilobiten des Kambriums, z. B. der rechts abgebildete Paradoxides, weisen einen Körperbau auf, der ein Einrollen weniger wahrscheinlich erscheinen lässt, wenn auch nicht unmöglich (siehe unvollständige Einrollung weiter unten). Viele frühe Redlichiiden waren relativ große Trilobiten und wahrscheinlich selbst Beutejäger, die selbst kein breites Spektrum an Freßfeinden zu fürchten hatten. Aber spätestens im Ordovizium und Silur hatten viele Taxa das Einrollen als effektiven Schutz angenommen.

Zur Perfektion brachten es speziell einige Phacopida und Vertreter anderer Ordnungen; sie entwickelten spezielle morphologische Strukturen, die vincularen Verschlußfurchen und -kerben, die eine paßgenaue Verbindung im Falle des Einrollens ermöglichten, fast in der Art moderner Nut- und Federbretter. Ein paläozoisches Klick-System! ;-) Diese coaptativen Strukturen bilden einen evolutionären Höhepunkt in der morphologischen Entwicklungsgeschichte der Trilobiten und belegen, zusammen mit den einzigartigen schizochroalen Augen der Phacopina, die herausragende Stellung dieser Unterordnung innerhalb der Klasse Trilobita.

Ich gebe gerne zu daß diese Einschätzung auch meiner persönlichen Vorliebe für die Phacopina geschuldet ist. Ihre in der Regel großen Augen und Ocellen, die prominente Glabella und der im ganzen sehr konvexe Körperbau geben ihnen einen ganz eigenen Charakter. Wenn es also Trilobiten gibt, denen ich mich besonders nahe fühle, dann sind es Phacops, Reedops, Drotops, Kainops und Co.! Wer einmal einen Stein aufgeschlagen und dabei unvermittelt in das gut erhaltene Auge eines solchen Trilobiten geblickt hat versteht vielleicht was ich meine. Ohne Richard Fortey nahetreten zu wollen halte ich ein solches Erlebnis für eindrucksvoller als seine in Trilobite! geschilderte Erstbegegnung mit einem Vertreter der Redlichiida mit ihren schmalen, in der Regel auch kompaktierten, holochroalen Sichelaugen. ;-)

Barrandeops granulopsBarrandeops granulopsBarrandeops granulopsEinrollung am Beispiel des phacopiden Trilobiten Barrandeops granulops (CHATTERTON et al., 2006) aus dem Unteren Devon, Timrhanrhart Formation, Zguilma, Marokko. Cephalon und Pygidium schließen aufgrund der speziellen Verschlußfurchen hermetisch miteinander ab. Alle Weichteile sind innerhalb der Kalzitkapsel eingeschlossen. Das vorliegende Exemplar ist ca. 1,5 cm breit. Eigenfund von Dieter Holland.

Fossile Funde komplett eingerollter Phacopiden wie dem hier gezeigten Prachtstück aus den devonischen Sedimenten vom Jbel Zguilma in Marokko sind nicht selten, was aber eher auf die generelle Häufigkeit der Unterordnung im Fossilnachweis zurückzuführen ist, als auf eine besondere Vorliebe dieser Vertreter für das Einrollen.

Schon aus dem Kambrium sind uns Funde eingerollter oder besser zugeklappter Agnostiden bekannt (bei zwei bis maximal drei Thoraxsegmenten sollte man den Begriff einrollen nicht strapazieren) sowie von Exemplaren des sehr häufigen Ptychopariiden Ellipsocephalus aus dem Barrandium von Böhmen.

Man unterscheidet verschiedene Arten des Einrollens, die schon von BARRANDE im Jahr 1852 angesprochen wurden und sowohl in der 1959er Treatise als auch später noch einmal zur Diskussion standen: Sphaeroidiale, doppelte und discoidiale Einrollung. Die Unterschiede liegen vor allem in der morphologischen Eignung der einzelnen Arten den Einrollungsprozeß zu vollziehen.

- Sphaeroidiale Einrollung qualifiziert sich durch die mehr oder weniger gleichartige Beteiligung aller verfügbaren Thoraxsegmente an der Einrollung, so daß sich eine der Kreisform annähernde Kugel unter Einschluß aller Extremitäten bildet. Kandidaten sind alle isopygischen oder makropygischen Trilobiten. Unser Phacops oben ist ein Musterbeispiel.

- Doppelte Einrollung ist dann gegeben, wenn das Pygidium und bisweilen auch die hintersten Thoraxsegmente bis unter die Vorderkante des Cephalons eingebogen werden. In diesem Falle schließt das Pygidium also nicht mit dem Cephalon ab, sondern rollt sich leicht spiralig unter dasselbe. Dies kann man vor allem bei frühen kambrischen Trilobiten beobachten, so zum Beispiel bei dem oben bereits erwähnten Ellipsocephalus. Nicht umsonst sprach BERGSTRÖM 1973 von Spiralrollung.

- Discoidiale Einrollung soll vorliegen, wenn der Trilobit lediglich den vorderen Thoraxteil einbiegt und den Rest des Thorax gewissermaßen als umgedrehten Deckel nutzt. Als Beispiel für eine solche Einrollung werden explizit die Vertreter der Harpetida erwähnt sowie trinucleoide Arten. Auch bei diesen Trilobiten mit ihrem enormen Cephalonrandsaum wurden alle gefährdeten Körperteile hermetisch abgeschlossen. Der Thorax beschrieb dabei - in einem beschränkten Teil - einen enorm engen Radius. Dabei scheint sich der Randsaum etwas nach unten gewölbt zu haben (auf Bild 2 sehr gut zu erkennen). Man kann spekulieren, daß dies auf die Spannung zurückzuführen ist, die beim Einrollen auf das gesamte Cephalon einwirkte.

Harpes sp.Harpes sp.Harpes sp.Einrollung am Beispiel des Trilobiten Harpes sp. aus Marokko. Trotz des eigentümlichen Cephalonrandsaumes schließt das Pygidium mit dem Ansatz des Randsaumes hermetisch ab. Präparat von Dieter Holland.

Der Hauptunterschied zur sphaeroidialen Einrollung ist in erster Linie darin zu sehen, daß der hintere Thoraxbereich inklusive Pygidium ungekrümmt bleibt. Das ist vor allem auf der ersten Aufnahme unseres Harpes deutlich zu erkennen. Diese Unterscheidung mag auf den ersten Blick etwas spitzfindig erscheinen, wenn man aber in Betracht zieht, daß die Art der Einrollung schon einmal als Klassifikationsmerkmal vorgeschlagen wurde, sollte man der Sache doch Beachtung schenken.

Eine bislang noch nicht erwähnte Art der Einrollung ist die unvollständige Einrollung: Diese vor allem bei frühen bestachelten Olenelloiden und Paradoxodoiden beobachtete Form liegt dann vor, wenn die Pleuren die ventralen Strukturen nicht hermetisch abschließen, sondern eine Lücke belassen, über die die Pleuralstacheln wehrhaft nach außen ragen (und die Lücke damit so ziemlich wettmachen). BERGSTRÖM nannte diese Variante auch zylindrische Einrollung in Anlehnung an die Form dieser klassischen Kopfbedeckung.

Wie bereits angedeutet gab es in den siebziger Jahren Bestrebungen die verschiedenen Formen der Einrollung als Klassifikationsmerkmal zu nutzen. Allerdings gibt es bei der Einrollung ein derart großes Maß an Variabilität, daß schon damals viele Spezialisten die Eignung der verschiedenen Einrollungsmuster als ungeeignet für die Klassifikation auf höherer Ebene, bzw. die Einrollungsarten als dermaßen an die morphologischen Gegebenheiten gebunden ansahen, daß sie schlichtweg vernachlässigbar und für den angedachten Zweck nicht zu gebrauchen waren. Und so wurden dann auch in der 1997er Treatise die verschiedenen Formen als Merkmale von lediglich begrenztem Nutzen eingestuft die für die Klassifikation nicht von fundamentaler Bedeutung sind.

Anomalocaris sp.Nichstdestoweniger bleibt die Einrollung eine faszinierende Sache und es ist immer wieder ein schönes Erlebnis einen perfekt eingerollten Trilobiten, welcher Art auch immer, in der Hand zu halten.

Wir erwähnten anfangs, daß sich die Trilobiten verschiedenen Gefahren gegenübersahen. Neben den geologisch und meteorologisch bedingten Risiken waren natürlich Freßfeinde ein wesentlicher Faktor. Aber welche Tiere hatten es eigentlich auf die wuselnden Vielbeiner abgesehen? Wir wissen eigentlich noch relativ wenig über die Beutegreifer, die gleichzeitig mit unseren Arthropoden die Meeresböden für sich in Anspruch nahmen oder drohend durch die Wassersäule glitten. Der Fossilnachweis ist da eher spärlich.

Eurypterus remipesNeben Anomalocaris, einem Jäger des Kambriums, den man erstmals in den fantastischen Lagerstätten des Burgess Shale in British Columbia in Kanada aufspürte (es dauerte eine ganze Weile bis man das beeindruckende, rundliche Mundwerkzeug als solches identifiziert hatte - ursprünglich nahm Charles D. Walcott an es handle sich um eine Art von Qualle) hatten unsere Trilobiten sicher auch andere Freßfeinde zu fürchten, darunter wahrscheinlich die Seeskorpione oder Eurypteriden des Silurs, die bis zu 2 Meter lang werden konnten, und es ist auch anzunehmen, daß innerhalb der Klasse der Trilobita selbst entsprechende Beuteschemata existierten. Paradoxides war sicher ein Jäger der auch mal kleinere, benthische Trilobiten verspeiste. Daß Trilobiten Beutetiere waren, belegen zahlreiche Funde von Trilobitenpanzern mit eindeutigen Bißmarken, bisweilen sogar verheilt, so daß der Trilobit entsprechende Angriffe durchaus zu überleben imstande war, insofern keine lebenswichtigen Organe betroffen waren. Überhaupt scheinen die kleinen Krabbler ziemlich hart im Nehmen gewesen zu sein. Sicherlich mit ein Grund, warum sie es schafften unglaubliche 300 Millionen Jahre zu überleben.

Ob Trilobiten sich auch im Zuge eines natürlichen Ablebens zusammenrollten, kann nicht belegt werden. Es ist anzunehmen, daß das Einrollen in erster Linie eine Schutz- und keine Todesstellung war. Das schließt selbstredend nicht aus, daß unsere Arthropoden in ihrer Schutzstellung auch zu Tode kamen, beispielweise bei Verschüttung unter Tonnen von Sediment im Rahmen von Seebeben und sich anschließenden marinen Erdrutschen im Shelfbereich der Urozeane.

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Samstag, 30.01.2010 16:28