Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
The fall of the trilobita

Mass extinction at the end of the Permian

"Long before the age of fishes, which began about 400 million years ago, the trilobites had already survived evolutionary decimation by about 170 million years. The span of time which saw the birth, development and disappearance of trilobites and their age is indeed staggering." - Riccardo Levi-Setti

Dimotopyge sp.For almost 300 million years trilobites roamed across the sea floors of the Palaeozoic, playing a sometimes predominant role in the ecology of their particular habitats and influencing life in the ancient oceans. But, as with all good things, their apparently never-ending existence finally had to come to an end. They managed to survive several global ecological disasters, ranging from considerable changes in the world’s climate to major geological processes and the apocalyptic bombardments of the Earth by meteorites and asteroids by adapting to new environmental conditions and successfully defending against old and new natural enemies. It was not until the inferno at the end of the Permian, some 251 million years ago, resulting in the complete extinction of approximately 70% of all land animals and a disastrous 90% of all marine life forms, that the class of the trilobita was finally facing extermination. With the fall of the trilobita, one of the most successful life forms ever disappeared off the face of the Earth for good.

Überleben Trilobit - MenschBut why, after surviving for such an enormous period of time, could they not take that final hurdle that nowadays marks the border to the Mesozoic? One reason can be found in the very series of catastrophies mentioned above, the fatal one at the end of the Permian being simply the straw that broke the camel’s back. Trilobites finally had to pay dearly for their never-ceasing struggle for survival. At their best times having more than sixty families during the Upper Cambrian, they declined in numbers continuously. In the course of several global mass extinctions which naturally also took their toll on the trilobites, existing families were reduced to a mere one third during another extinction level event at the end of the Ordovician. And at the end of the Devonian, a meagre five families – all belonging to the resilient class of the Proetida – had managed to survive, three of which taking up the final battle in the End-Permian mass extinction.

Barringer Meteorite Crater Such a dramatic decline in biological diversity to a sheer minimum became the headstone to the drama that was to follow. The smaller the amount of species and population, the higher the risk of extermination with even small causes. The Permian catastrophy merely added to the accumulation of hostile circumstances which broke the neck of our little friends (only literally, of course, as our bugs were invertebrates). Changes in ecology, the biological mechanisms of displacement by other life forms and new patterns of hunter-prey relations all worked together to eradicate trilobites from the seas of the End-Palaeozoic.

"For a species to be rare means to always be close to the brink of collective collapse." writes David Quammen in his recommendable book The Song of the Dodo : At some time after the terrible apocalypse at the end of the Permian the last surving trilobite, perhaps a member of the genus Acropyge, was holding out in a dark corner of its habitat. Following the global catastrophy food had become very, very scarce. There was hardly a living thing. The world’s oceans were close to being biologically dead. During the last two years our little trilobite had not met a single fellow bug. But neither it nor anyone or else knew that it was actually the last of its kind, the last of its species, its family, its order, its class. Another day dawned – dawned darkly as all days had done in the months following the asteroids impact as huge amounts of material had been thrown into the planet’s Ölgemälde eines Dodosatmosphere, shielding the world’s biosphere from the warming rays of the sun – and the trilobite’s instinct left it with no choice but to leave its protective hide-out to look for food. A marine predator, itself now a maverick and on the brink of starvation, detected its presence and ended its lonesome life in a single, hungry bite. That’s what extinction looks like!

A very sad story, indeed, and told in a sad manner (for which I ask forgiveness), a story, nevertheless, which is being replayed day after day after day: Species, families, orders and entire classes face extinction as we speak. Roughly one hundred species – many of them arthropods - vanished forever from the face of planet Earth during the last twentyfour hours. Another one hundred species won’t live to see another day.

Yet today it is mostly man who bears responsibility for the extinction of many of his fellow creatures. Torwards the end of the 17th century, it took us no more than seventy years to completely eradicate the Dodo [Raphus cucullatus (LINNAEUS, 1758), an innocent, flightless and fatally confiding bird of the family of doves, living as an endemic species on the island of Mauritius. Sailors killed them by the thousands, for food but also just “for the fun of it”, as they were very easy targets.. Today we do not even know what the Dodo exactly looked like. Save for a few paintings (see ill.) and some dubious reports in writing there’s hardly anything left of the Dodo. The director of a British museum gave orders to burn the last complete stuffed specimen in 1755 as it had attracted “too much dust”. Human stupidity and ignorance is indeed unlimited.

Additional note, September 2008:
Merely by coincidence I stumbled upon a very extraordinary book the other day. Released in 2004 and receiving the European Publishers Award for Photography 2004 straightaway, the landscape orientated book brings the extinct Dodo back into existence. In a fascinating reconstruction of the past, Finnish photographer Harri Kallio uses his considerable photographic skill and imagination to create the illusion that these fascinating creatures are alive and abundant, living as they once did in their own unspoilt haven, the island of Mauritius. Kallio's Dodos are featured in its landscape, near rivers, on mountains, in lush valleys and dense woodlands, undisturbed and blissfully unaware of the earlier human invasion which ultimately led to their extinction in the 17th century. The photographs are accompanied by a thorough history of the Dodo, including eyewitness accounts, pictorial sources and physical evidence from museums and libraries all over the world. There are only four museums that house true Dodo remains: Oxford University Natural History Museum, Natural History Museum London, Copenhagen University and the Zoological museum, Prague. Kallio used these resources, and many more, to meticulously research his subject, before carefully constructing his own, very accurate Dodo models!

Der Dodo auf Mauritius Harri Kallio: The Dodo and Mauritius Island – Imaginary Encounters
Hardcover: 128 pages
Publisher: Dewi Lewis Publishing; 1. Edition: (Oct. 2004)
Language: English
ISBN-10:
1904587135
ISBN-13: 978-1904587132
Size: 30.2 x 24.6 x 2.2 cm

Kathwaia sp.Scientists in growing numbers come to the conclusion that the irreversible disappearance of many species during the last two hundred to three hundred years, as a direct result of our irresponsible behaviour, threatens to become a massacre the consequences of which only marginally differing from any of the extinction level events that haunted life on Earth in regular intervalls since the early Cambrian. The fossil record seems to indicate a time span of roughly ten million years following such an event for nature to recover to reach a pre-event status of biological diversity. Therefore the consequences of man’s destructive influence on fauna and flora surely will be incalculable and lasting

(Note: The most authentic portrayal of the Dodo can be found in the wonderfully illustrated book "A Gap in Nature" by Tim F. Flannery and Peter Schouten. The work revives many species, most of which having been exterminated by the hand of man.)

The average time of existence, the survival rate of a particular species, is but a few million years. Statistically, man, Homo sapiens, is already getting close to reaching the final stages of its life expectancy. Not too regretable, I guess, considering the aforesaid. Trilobites managed to survive for a much longer period. We do not need – nor do we have any right – to look for deficiencies and shortcomings within the trilobite clade which may have contributed to its total destruction. Trilobites were strong enough to survive for 295 million years, a performance matched by only a handful of other animal groups.

Aufstieg und Fall der TrilobitaAs already mentioned above, the recent analysis of large amounts of available data indicate that we are at the beginning of the sixth mass extinction event within the last 440 million years, if not already right in it, as many scientists believe it to be already in full swing. An extinction event caused by man. And we cannot expect the originator to manage to evade and escape its consequences. In order to do that we would need something we do not have, but which trilobites used to have in abundance: unambitious biological stubbornness and obstinacy.

For as far as the existence of Homo sapiens is concerned, one must never forget that man is not living in a status of being disconnected from nature. As a matter of fact he is a very part of it, in the sense that everything he does needs to be regarded as natural, including the dreadful deed of destroying other life forms and its very own means of existence by environmental pollution and destruction.

We like to regard ourselves as a very unique entity, for the most part unaffected by developments in our environment. Nothing could be further from the truth. The truth is that it was evolution itself which started its biggest experiment ever when it allowed the human race to play its predominant role. Once this experiment fails – and it will fail, it will – the “monkey in a suit and tie” will follow the path of all other creatures that disappeared from the face of the Earth. Not really that much regrettable, I’d say! This may sound like a philosophical approach to a very grave outlook but its simply the truth. I am inclined to find my personal quantum of solace in this conviction when listenting to the everyday bad news …

In one of his recent books (The Earth: An Intimate History) Richard Fortey closes the fifth chapter with a fitting remark on the human species, albeit in a somewhat different context: “The human race is but a parasitic tick, enjoying the present abundance and plenty for as long as the oceans stay on a low level and the climate comparably mild. But the current arrangement of land and sea will change and change will our short-termed predominance.” I have nothing to add.

The extinction of the trilobita marks the end of the Palaeozoic era, a mysterious world full of yet unsolved riddles, many of its fossilised hints still waiting to be deciphered. Trilobites for sure never anticipated the attention they would get from a particular species more than 250 million years after their leaving the stage of life. It is more than doubtful that the human genus will receive the same honours.

Last Update : 02/23/2010 6:36 PM

Home - Introduction - Geologic Eras - Fossilization - Morphology - Reconstruction - Visual System - Enrolment - Moulting - Spines & Horns - Growth Stages - Feeding - Reproduction - Pathologies - Orders - Origins - Extinction - Quarries - Continental Drift - Preparation - Explorers - Mile Stones - Galleries - Guest Collection - Specials - Collecting - Fakes! - Best of Ebay - Documents - Literature - Poetry - Links - Other Fossils - Evolution - Creationism - Glossary - Guestbook - Forum - Imprint - Last Words! - About the Author

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Das Ende der Trilobiten

Massensterben am Ende des Perm

"Long before the age of fishes, which began about 400 million years ago, the trilobites had already survived evolutionary decimation by about 170 million years. The span of time which saw the birth, development and disappearance of trilobites and their age is indeed staggering." - Riccardo Levi-Setti

Dimotopyge sp.Für etwa 300 Millionen Jahre herrschten die Trilobiten in den Meeren des Erdaltertums, beeinflußten und bestimmten die Ökologie und das Leben in den Ozeanen der Vorzeit. Aber wie allen guten Dingen war auch ihrer scheinbar ewig währenden, bedeutungsvollen Existenz irgendwann ein Ende gesetzt. Mehrere weltumspannende ökologische Katastrophen, ausgelöst durch klimatische Veränderungen, umfassende geologische Vorgänge oder Bombardierungen mit Meteoriten und Asteroiden aus den Tiefen des Alls, konnten sie überleben, konnten sich an neue Umweltbedingungen anpassen und sich gegen alte und neue Feinde behaupten. Erst das Inferno am Ende des Perm, vor ca. 251 Millionen Jahren, dem nach heutigen Schätzungen bis zu 70% aller Landbewohner, ein Großteil der Flora und mehr als 90% aller marinen Lebensformen zum Opfer fielen, löschte die Klasse der Trilobita endgültig aus. Damit verschwand eine der erfolgreichsten Lebensformen überhaupt von unserem Planeten..

Überleben Trilobit - MenschWarum aber konnten sie diese letzte Hürde, die sie ins Erdmittelalter geführt hätte, nicht überwinden? Ein Grund dafür liegt im regelmäßigen Auftreten eben jener Katastrophen selbst, von denen die besagte am Ende des Perms ihnen letztendlich den Garaus machte; die Trilobiten zollten dem immerwährenden Kampf gegen die Vernichtung ihren finalen Tribut. Ausgehend von ihrer vollen Blüte mit mehr als sechzig Familien im Oberen Kambrium nahm diese Zahl beständig ab. Im Zuge mehrerer globaler Massensterben, von denen die Trilobiten selbstredend nicht unberührt blieben, reduzierte sich diese Zahl schon mit einem weiteren Extinction Level Event am Ende des Ordviziums auf gerade mal ein Drittel. Am Ende des Devons waren es gerade noch fünf. Von diesen fünf Familien aus der Ordnung der standhaften Proetida stellten sich nur drei zum letzten Überlebenskampf. Steter Tropfen höhlt den Stein.

Barringer Meteorite CraterMit einem derartigen Rückgang der biologischen Diversität auf ein Minimum war bereits der Grundstein für das sich anschliessende Drama gelegt. Je geringer Artenspektrum und Population, desto höher das Risiko der völligen Auslöschung selbst bei kleineren Ursachen: Im Zusammenwirken mit anderen ökologischen Ursachen, den biologischen Mechanismen von Verdrängung durch neue Lebensformen, veränderten Jäger-Beute-Schemata und ähnlichem, brach die Permkatastrophe den Trilobiten das Genick (im übertragenen Sinne, denn unsere Freunde sind ja Wirbellose).

"Selten zu sein bedeutet für eine Art, daß die Schwelle zum kollektiven Zusammenbruch niedriger liegt." schreibt David Quammen in seinem empfehlenswerten Buch "Der Gesang des Dodo". Irgendwann nach der großen Apokalypse am Ende des Perm harrte der letzte überlebende Trilobit, vielleicht ein Vertreter aus der Gattung der Acroypge, in einer dunklen Ecke des Meeresbodens aus. Im Zuge der globalen Katastrophe war die Nahrung rar geworden. Die Meere waren biologisch beinahe tot. In den letzten zwei Jahren hatte der kleine Trilobit nicht einen einzigen Artgenossen mehr zu Gesicht bekommen. Doch weder er selbst noch sonst jemand wußte, daß er der letzte seiner Art, seiner Familie, seiner Ordnung, seiner Klasse war. Dann kam der Tag - dunkel, wie die Tage in den letzten Monaten, durch die dem Einschlag folgenden Einbringung großer Materialmengen in die Erdatmosphäre, alle geworden waren - an dem sein Instinkt ihn unwiderstehlich dazu zwang, seine Ölgemälde eines Dodosschützenden Winkel zu verlassen und auf Nahrungssuche zu gehen. Ein mariner Jäger, selbst zum Einzelgänger geworden und ebenfalls am Rande des Verhungerns, erspähte ihn und machte seinem vereinsamten Leben mit einem einzigen Biß ein Ende. So sieht Aussterben aus!

Eine sehr traurige Geschichte und dazu noch wehmütig erzählt (das mag man mir verzeihen), aber eine Geschichte, die sich auch heute tagtäglich wiederholt: Arten, Familien, Ordnungen, ganze Klassen sterben aus. Um die einhundert Spezies - viele davon Arthropoden - haben die letzten vierundzwanzig Stunden nicht überlebt. Und weitere einhundert Arten werden den morgigen Tag nicht zu Ende bringen.

Aber heute ist es der Mensch, der dafür meistens die Verantwortung trägt. So schafften wir es, den Dodo [Raphus cucullatus (LINNAEUS, 1758)], einen harmlosen, flugunfähigen und zudem verhängnisvoll zutraulichen Vogel aus der Familie der Tauben, der als endemische Art auf Mauritius lebte, gegen Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts innerhalb von gerade einmal 70 Jahren komplett auszurotten. Wir wissen heute nicht einmal mehr genau, wie er eigentlich ausgesehen hat, denn außer ein paar Ölgemälden (siehe Bild) und zweifelhaft aussagekräftigen Berichten ist uns nichts geblieben. Das letzte ausgestopfte Exemplar ließ ein britischer Museumsdirektor 1755 verbrennen, weil es "zu viel Staub angesetzt" hatte. Die menschliche Dummheit und Ignoranz kennt leider keine Grenzen.

Ergänzung im September 2008:
Mehr durch Zufall bin ich vor wenigen Tagen auf ein äußerst ungewöhnliches Buch gestoßen, das bereits 2004 erschienen ist, und auf Anhieb den European Publishers Award for Photography 2004 gewonnen hat. In diesem Buch im "Landscape"-Format ersteht der Dodo förmlich zu neuem Leben. Anhand verschiedener sterblicher Teilüberreste des Dodos aus vier europäischen Museen in Oxford, London, Kopenhagen und Prag - die einzigen Museen, die noch authentische Reste des Dodos beherbergen, - sowie unter Berücksichtigung zeitgenössischer Zeugenaussagen, hat der finnische Fotograf Harri Kallio den Dodo vollständig rekonstruiert und detailgetreue Modelle in Originalgröße geschaffen. Diese wurden zurück nach Mauritius geschafft und dort in der Heimat des Vogels in der Natur lebensecht platziert und fotografiert. Das Ergebnis ist eine Mischung aus Geschichtsstunde, einer Einführung in die Techniken der Gerichtsmedizin und der kriminalistischen Nachstellung der Situation vor Ort - bevor er zum Tatort wurde! Die Fotografien sind wirklich außergewöhnlich und verschaffen dem interessierten Leser eine Zeitreise ins 17. Jahrhundert, als der Dodo auf Mauritius seinem friedfertigen Leben nachging. Selten bin ich von Fotos fasziniert, aber dieses Buch begeistert!

Der Dodo auf MauritiusHarri Kallio: Der Dodo auf Mauritius - Die Wiedergeburt eines ausgestorbenen Vogels
Gebundene Ausgabe: 121 Seiten
Verlag: Edition Braus im Wachter Verlag; Auflage: 1 (Oktober 2004)
Sprache: Deutsch
ISBN-10: 3899041186
ISBN-13: 978-3899041187
Größe: 30,2 x 24,6 x 2 cm

Kathwaia sp.Das endgültige Verschwinden vieler Arten innerhalb der letzten zwei- bis dreihundert Jahre aufgrund unseres unverantwortlichen Handelns droht - nach Ansicht einer wachsenden Anzahl von Wissenschaftlern - von seinen Ausmaßen her zu einem "Gemetzel" zu werden, das sich in seinen Konsequenzen nicht wesentlich von den beobachteten Katastrophen seit Anbeginn des Kambriums unterscheiden wird. Da nach den geologisch belegten Massensterben etwa zehn Millionen Jahre vergingen, bis die Artenvielfalt wieder die vor dem Extinction Level Event beobachtete Vielfalt erreichte, könnten die Folgen unabsehbar und nachhaltig sein.

(Anm.: Die authentischste Darstellung des Dodo gibt es wohl in dem wundervollen Bildband "A Gap in Nature" von Tim F. Flannery und Peter Schouten zu bestaunen. In diesem Buch werden zahlreiche, zumeist durch Menschenhand ausgestorbene Arten bildlich wiederbelebt.)

Die durchschnittliche Verweildauer, die Überlebensrate einer Art, beträgt nur wenige Millionen Jahre. Statistisch gesehen haben wir die unsrige schon fast ausgeschöpft, was angesichts der obigen Geschichte vielleicht nicht einmal bedauerlich ist. Die Trilobiten haben weitaus längere Zeitspannen überlebt. Wir Menschen haben es nicht nötig - noch haben wir das Recht dazu - bei ihnen nach Unzulänglichkeiten zu suchen, die ihre Vernichtung begünstigt haben mochten. Ihr Design war gut genug um 295 Millionen Jahre zu überdauern - eine Leistung die nur von wenigen anderen Tiergruppen übertroffen wurde.

Aufstieg und Fall der TrilobitaWie oben bereits erwähnt, lassen neue Analysen großer Datenbestände auf den Beginn des vermutlich sechsten großen Massensterbens seit 440 Millionen Jahren schließen, das der Welt, insofern es nicht schon voll im Gange ist, so doch wohl unmittelbar bevorsteht. Ein Massensterben, von uns selbst verursacht. Und wir können nicht davon ausgehen, das selbige zu überleben. Dafür fehlt uns etwas, das den Trilobiten im Überfluß zu Verfügung stand: Anspruchslose biologische Sturheit.

Denn was die Existenz des Homo sapiens angeht, so darf man nie vergessen daß auch der Mensch nicht abgekoppelt von der Natur lebt, sondern Teil derselben ist. Alles von Menschen gemachte und getane ist in diesem Sinne natürlich, auch die von ihm betriebene Vernichtung anderer Lebensformen und der eigenen Existenzgrundlagen durch Umweltverschmutzung und -zerstörung.

Wir betrachten uns selbst gerne als von den Vorgängen und Entwicklungen der Natur abgetrennt, was bar jeglicher Realität ist. In Wahrheit ist es die Evolution selbst, die mit der Schaffung des Menschen ihr bislang größtes Experiment gestartet hat, und wenn dieses fehlschlägt - wovon auszugehen ist - wird auch der "Affe im Anzug" den Weg all jener Kreaturen gehen, deren Aussterben beschlossene Sache ist. Und das ist wahrscheinlich auch besser so, das muß man ganz nüchtern sehen. Das mag vielleicht wie eine philosophische Betrachtung klingen, ist aber schlicht die Wahrheit. Man ist versucht, angesichts der täglichen Hiobsbotschaften darin einen gewissen Trost zu finden ...

Richard Fortey hat in einem seiner letzten Bücher, Der bewegte Planet, am Ende des fünften Kapitels in einem etwas anderen Zusammenhang eine nichtsdestotrotz passende Anmerkung zu unserer Spezies gemacht: "Die Menscheit ist nichts weiter als eine parasitische Zecke, die sich am momentanen Überfluß labt, solange die Meere niedrig sind und das Klima vergleichsweise gnädig ist. Doch die gegenwärtige Anordnung von Land und Meer wird sich ändern und mit ihr unsere kurze Vormachtstellung." Dem ist nichts hinzuzufügen.

Das Erlöschen der Trilobiten markiert das Ende des Paläozoikums, einer für uns immer noch geheimnisvollen Welt voller Rätsel, die wir nur langsam entschlüsseln können. Ob die Trilobiten wohl ahnten, welche Aufmerksamkeit Ihnen mehr als 250 Millionen Jahre nach ihrem Abtreten von einer anderen Spezies zuteil werden würde? Diese Ehre wird uns jedenfalls wohl nicht gegeben werden.

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Samstag, 30.01.2010 16:31

Zurück zum Seitenanfang

Startseite - Einführung - Erdzeitalter - Fossilisation - Morphologie - Rekonstruktion - Sehapparat - Einrollung - Häutung - Bestachelung - Wachstum - Ernährung - Reproduktion - Pathologie - Ordnungen - Ursprünge - Aussterben - Fundorte - Kontinentaldrift - Präparation - Entdecker - Meilensteine - Galerien - Gastsammlung - Specials - Sammeln - Fälschungen! - Best of Ebay - Dokumente - Literatur - Lyrik - Links - andere Fossilien - Evolution - Kreationismus - Glossar - Gästebuch - Forum - Impressum - Das Allerletzte! - Über den Autor