Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Feeding habits

What did trilobites have for breakfast?

Cedaria sp. The question of feeding habits and food-gaining strategies in trilobites can only be addressed by using an indirect approach, as we are dealing with an extinct life form without any direct descendants, known only from fossilized remains (see: Reproduction). There are but a few indications, the analysis of which allowing for some more or less obvious conclusions. In general, we have to base our investigations on the following circumstances:

•  Trace fossils, e.g. Rusophycus and Cruziana, which do not represent the actual remains of trilobites but the tracks they left in originally soft sediment which lay undisturbed until it was covered by other layers of mud and thereby preserved as a trace fossil. Such tracks of movement can be used to construe behavioural patterns.
•  The morphological aspects of the trilobite head shield, in particular the shape and size of the glabella, which seems to have contained a stomach, and the shape of the cephalic border.
•  The presence of strongly articulated so-called gnathobases, a particular pair of legs situated close to the point where the trilobite’s mouth apparatus should be expected, beset with rows of “spines” or “teeth”.
• The orientation of the hypostome, its shape, size and type (conterminant, natant, impendent). The hypostome seems to have played a significant role in the intake of food, with the opening of the mouth sitting right above its posterior border. It may have served as a kind of “ramp” to feed in food particles.
•  The size of the holaspid or adult trilobite itself, as it seems more likely for larger taxa to have played a predatory role in local ecologies, taking into account the overall fauna as we know it from the fossil record.

gnathobase Trilobites displayed an extraordinary diversity in reference to their outer shape. Morphological complexity continued to increase throughout the Cambrian and Ordovician and was still notable up to the Carboniferous. It is not unusual to encounter up to twenty different trilobite species within the fossil record of a single biofacies, differing considerably in their morphological aspects. This seems to support the thesis that there must have been a wide range of potential food sources that allowed all these individual taxa to live alongside each other without the need of competing directly for nutrition.

FORTEY & OWENS, in their 1999 paper (Feeding habits in trilobites, Palaeontology, Vol. 42, Part 3, pp. 429-465) concluded that it was possible to extract important information from the combination of different characteristics and proposed to classify trilobites into several groups of eaters:.

• Predators and scavengers
• Particle feeders (ingesting free or rock-bound organic remains of animal or herbal origin)
• Suspension feeders (ingesting organic material extracted from the sediment by rummaging through it and sorting out edibles)
• Filter feeders (filtration of edible parts directly from the water column or intentionally disturbed sediment by engaging the cephalon and extremities in the process
• Parasites

Onnia sp. We cannot and do not want to discuss the entity of conclusions as brought up by Fortey and Owens, in particular the parasite option which seems to be a very special one, but would like to concentrate on some basic patterns easily comprehensible.

The hypostome in particular receives increased significance in the process of nutrition. Fortey and Owens emphasize that it has to be regarded as being part of the mouth apparatus, assisting the animal in feeding in edibles. Both recent and ancient predators and scavengers, the latter being known from fossilized remains only, usually display a mouth apparatus designed to both grab as well as hold prey, break and tear it up until it matches the capacity of its ingestive system. This asks for a certain stability and construction. As already mentioned, there are currently three different types of hypostomes that can be found in trilobites. Conterminant and impendent hypostomes are rigidly fused with the rostral plate (even if separated by a Phacopidsuture) or, in rare cases, directly attached to the anterior part of the cephalic doublure which is regularly a very strong construction and resilient basis (e.g. Asaphus). Such hypostomes frequently display additional peculiarities in shape resembling forks, teeth, in some cases rasp-like protrusions and the like. And it is interesting indeed that most species showing these characteristic hypostomes belong to the larger taxa within the trilobite class, usually with very convex glabellas. This and other observations lead Fortey and Owens to believe that trilobites with conterminant or impendent hypostomes have to be regarded as predators or scavengers which were able to hold and feed in food by aid of their gnathobases and hypostomes.

Fortey and Owens regarded predators and scavengers as following a more primitive, primordial feeding habit, although carnivorous feeding seems to have continued way beyond the Ordovician and can be found in many prominent taxa like the Paradoxidoidea, Corynexochida, some Asaphida, Lichida, Odontopleuridae, Calymenoidea, Phacopina and secondary conterminant Proetida. Trace fossils, in particular Rusophycus which is generally attributed to larger Asaphids, show distinct impressions of fork-shaped hypostomes and gnathobases. Such tracks often converge on others originating from what appears to have been worm-like soft-bodied creatures. This seems to add to the conclusion that these trilobite taxa preyed on other animals. However, this interpretation has been doubted, and it remains to be seen whether it can be supported by additional evidence in the future (RYDELL et al., 2001: Trace fossil associations in the Swedish Mickwitzia sandstone: Did trilobites really hunt for worms? GFF, Vol. 123 pp. 247-250)

Asaphus expansus Unlike conterminant and impendent trilobites, natant taxa, that is trilobites in which the hypostome is neither attached to the rostral plate nor fused with the cephalic doublure, show an extraordinary continuity in hypostome shape. Throughout the 300 million years of trilobite reign, changes were but marginal. In natant taxa, the hypostome is sort of free-floating and only surrounded by more or less soft tissue, unsuitable to be used to grasp struggling prey or process solid food in the way predatory trilobites could. On the other hand, this flexibility might have served the animal as a steered sort of “flap” that could be lowered and retracted as necessary in order to function as a ramp to feed in edible particles from the surrounding sediment. Trilobites following this feeding habit usually belong to small-sized taxa and are often found in large clusters. A good example is the well-known Elrathia kingii, specimens of which can be found in almost every trilobite collection. On the one hand, these small animals are placed at the lower end of the food chain (the famous nutrition pyramid) and have to even the odds of survival by producing much more offspring than their predatory cousins, on the other hand they had access to large resources of food as the sediment must have been abundant with organic remains of one form or another. Trace fossils like Cruziana are generally attributed to this type of trilobites, the tracks of which showing distinct bilateral drag marks from its genal spines impressed deeply into the sediment, indicating a semi-benthic harvesting.

According to Fortey and Owens, trilobites displaying natant hypostomes therefore represent particle or suspension feeders, harvesting edible organic remains by either grazing them directly from the sediment’s surface or filtering, using their “hypostome elevator” as a tool to feed in. Their frequent appearance as mass assemblages in the fossil record in combination with their overall small size seem to support the idea of a non-predatory life mode in this particular group.

FilterApart from predators, scavengers, particle and suspension feeders ist is the filter feeders which form a specialized group within the class trilobita. These trilobites regularly display a very large fringe, in most cases closely pitted. Examples can be found within the genera Harpes , Onnia and others. It is supposed that their mouth apparatus were situated way above where other trilobites used to have it and that they featured a sort of filtering chamber within the cephalic shield in which edible food particles could be sorted out. According to Fortey and Owens, the typical filter feeder morphology is one in which the convexity of the cephalon considerably exceeds that of the thorax and tail shield. They also see support of their theory in the fact that in some suspicious taxa the hypostome shows a very steep orientation (Illaenus, Symphysurus, Ampyx ) with the posterior part at far distance from the sediment. Assuming that the mouth apparatus in these taxa were placed like in all others trilobites at the posterior end of the hypostome, it is difficult to imagine how these animals were able to gain their food other than by filtration. Not only is the mouth apparatus too far from the substrate to directly take in food particles but the steep orientation of the hypostome reders it useless in grasping and holding prey or processing other animal remains.

It has to be said that there are a great many examples in which this combination is not evident, the animal, however, still being regarded as a filter feeder. We won’t go into discussing this matter in detail but would like to summarize the findings of Fortey & Owens as follows: trilobites with conspicuously broad cephalic fringes, pitted or not, in combination with a very convex glabellar morphology may be regarded as filter feeders, in which a “nutrient solution“ was processed inside a filtering chamber. The nutrient solution being acquired directly from the water column or the substrate, the latter being intentionally disturbed to release edible particles contained therein. Pitted fringes may have allowed water to flow into and out of the cavern built by the cephalic shield and release the indigestive remains of the substrate back to the environment.

Harpes sp. As with many other aspects the Agnostida seem to be problematic insofar as they seem to have lead a pelagic life within the water column rather than on the sea floor. There is an ongoing discussion as to how these trilobites acquired their food and it is way beyond the intention of this website to consider all the pros and cons of the different theories dealing with this subject. The same applies to other trilobites with a similar mode of life as unfortunately we know nothing of the extremities of non-Agnostid pelagic taxa. In all likelihood they fed on plankton (tiny free-floating organisms) or small plankton-eating animals. However, such considerations remain highly speculative and we restrain ourselves from drawing further conclusions.

Another problem can be found in the Cheiruroidea. Trilobites within this taxon feature a conterminant hypostome, but it is distinctly inclined and usually shows a notable granulation. It does dot display any fork-like protrusion as should be expected in a predator and its evolutionary development can only be described as “conservative”. No recognizable change in its morphological layout has been observed in the fossil record covering millions of years. These trilobites may have had a very specialized food-gaining strategy – as of now we don’t know which.

In any case trilobites must have occupied every available ecological niche within the habitat and the question of their feeding habits is but another riddle – the solution to which certainly being one more reason for their outstanding evolutionary success.

Recommend our web site!

Last Update : 01/30/2010 5:04 PM

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Nahrungsbeschaffung

Was gab es bei "Trilobitens" zum Frühstück?

Cedaria sp.Die Frage, was Trilobiten fraßen und welche Strategien sie dabei verfolgten, läßt sich nur indirekt angehen, da uns durch die Tatsache, daß es sich um eine - ohne direkte Nachkommen - ausgestorbene Klasse handelt, auch hier Grenzen gesetzt sind (siehe: Reproduktion). Es gibt einige wenige Anhaltspunkte, die mehr oder weniger einleuchtende Schlußfolgerungen zulassen. Im wesentlichen kann man sich auf folgende Dinge beschränken:

•  Spurenfossilien, sog. "trace fossils" wie z. B. Rusophycus und Cruziana, bei denen es sich nicht um die eigentlichen Überreste von Trilobiten handelt, sondern um Hinterlassenschaften in Form von Bewegungsspuren im Sediment aus denen man auf ein bestimmtes Verhaltensmuster schließen kann.
•  Die morphologische Ausgestaltung des Cephalons im Hinblick auf die Größe der Glabella, innerhalb derer sich der Magen befand, und die Form des Cephalonsaumes.
•  Das Vorhandensein deutlich entwickelter "Gnathobasen", d. h. von mit entsprechenden "Stacheln", "Zähnchen", etc. besetzten Bereichen an den Beinpaaren in Nähe des Mundapparates.
•  Die Ausrichtung, Ausformung, Größe und Art (konterminant, natant, impendent) des Hypostoms, da man davon ausgeht, daß oberhalb des Hypostoms die Öffnung zur Nahrungsaufnahme lag und dem Hypostom in seiner Funktion entscheidende Bedeutung zuzumessen ist.
•  Die Größe des Trilobiten im holaspiden Stadium selbst, da größere Spezies eher zur räuberischen Lebensweise neigen.

GnathobasenTrilobiten besaßen eine erstaunliche Diversität im Hinblick auf ihre äußere Form. Die morphologische Komplexität nahm vom Beginn des Kambriums an ins Ordovizium hinein beständig zu und bis ins Karbon war die Vielfalt noch bedeutend. Es ist nicht ungewöhnlich, innerhalb einer einzigen Biofazies auf bis zu 20 verschiedene Trilobitenspezies zu treffen, die sich morphologisch deutlich unterscheiden. Dies weist auf ein ganzes Spektrum von unterschiedlichen Nahrungsquellen hin, die es ermöglichten, daß diese Arten neben- und miteinander leben konnten, ohne sich gegenseitig die Nahrung streitig zu machen.

Fortey und Owens haben bereits 1999 in ihrem Aufsatz (Feeding habits in trilobites, Palaeontology, Vol. 42, Part 3, pp. 429-465) die Auffassung vertreten, daß sich aus einer Kombination verschiedener Charakteristika aus der oben angeführten Aufzählung ein Bild ergeben kann. Sie teilten demnach die Trilobiten in verschiedene Gruppen auf, was die Nahrungsaufnahme betraf:

•  Beutegreifer und Aasfresser
•  Partikelfresser (Aufnahme frei herumliegender oder an Felsen anhaftender organischer Überreste von Pflanzen und Tieren)
•  Suspensionsfresser (Aufnahme organischen Materials durch Durchwühlen des Sediments und Aussortierung von Freßbarem)
•  Filtrierer (Ausfilterung von Freßbarem direkt aus der Wassersäule oder absichtlich aufgewühltem Sediment unter Zuhilfenahme des Cephalons und der Extremitäten)
•  Parasiten

Onnia sp.Wir können und wollen nicht in alle Details der Ausführungen von Fortey und Owens einsteigen - insbesondere die parasitäre Option ist zu speziell - sondern uns auf für alle nachvollziehbare Grundmuster beziehen:

Insbesondere dem Hypostom kommt nach ihrer Auffassung Bedeutung zu. Sie geben zu Bedenken, daß das Hypostom auch als Teil des Mundapparates anzusehen ist und dabei half, Nahrung zuzuführen. Rezente wie auch archaische, fossiliert vorliegende Beutegreifer und Aasfresser besitzen in der Regel Mundwerkzeuge, die es ihnen ermöglichen, Beute festzuhalten, aufzubrechen, zu zerkleinern, etc. Dies erfordert eine gewisse Stabilität und Ausformung. Nun gibt es ja verschiedene Arten von Hypostomen. Konterminante und impendente Hypostome sind mittels Naht dennoch fest mit der Rostralplatte, in seltenen Fällen direkt mit der vorderen Cephalondublüre verbunden, die regelmäßig stark ausgebildet ist (z. B. Asaphus), d. h. sie besitzen eine belastbare Basis. Oft weisen diese Hypostome zusätzlich eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Ausformungen von Gabeln, Zähnen, oder in Einzelfällen sogar raspelartige Auswüchsen, etc., auf. Hinzu kommt, daß die meisten Trilobiten mit derartigen Charakteristika in der Regel zu Phacopidden größeren Vertretern der Klasse Trilobita gerechnet werden und eine recht konvexe Glabella besitzen. Diese und andere Beobachtungen führen Fortey und Owens zu der Annahme, daß es sich bei Trilobiten mit konterminantem oder impendentem Hypostom in der Regel um Beutegreifer oder Aasfresser handelte, die in der Lage waren mit Hilfe der Gnathobasen und des Hypostoms Nahrung im Mundbereich zu fixieren und zuzuführen.

Fortey und Owens betrachten die Beutegreifer und Aasfresser als Anwender einer primitiven, ursprünglichen Art der Nahrungsaufnahme, die sich allerdings bis weit über das Ordovizium hinaus erstreckte und sowohl in den Paradoxidoidea, Corynexochida, einigen Asaphida, Lichida, Odontopleuridae, Calymenoidea, Phacopina und sekundär-konterminanten Proetida zu beobachten sei. Spurenfossilien, namentlich die bereits erwähnten Rusophycus, die in der Regel größeren Asaphiden zugeordnet werden und deutliche Abdrücke der Hypostomgabeln und Gnathobasen zeigen, treffen des öfteren mit anderen Spuren zusammen, die von wurmartigen Lebewesen zu stammen scheinen, und die mit dem Zusammentreffen enden. Dies deutet ebenfalls darauf hin, daß der Trilobit räuberisch tätig war, auch wenn diese Interpretation in jüngerer Zeit bisweilen angezweifelt worden ist (Rydell et al., 2001: Trace fossil associations in the Swedish Mickwitzia sandstone: Did trilobites really hunt for worms? GFF, Vol. 123 pp. 247-250)

Asaphus expansusIm Gegensatz dazu hat man bei Trilobiten mit natanten, also nicht mit der Rostralplatte oder der Dublüre verbundenen Hypostomen eine auffällige Beständigkeit festgestellt, was die Ausformung desselben angeht. Diese hat sich in den gesamten 300 Millionen Jahren der Trilobitenherrschaft nur unwesentlich verändert. Diese Hypostome liegen gewissermaßen frei und sind wohl nur von mehr oder weniger weichem Gewebe umgeben gewesen, was sich nicht dazu geeignet hätte, sich wehrende Beutetiere zu fixieren oder kompakte Nahrung fachgerecht zu bearbeiten. Andererseits hat dies aber wohl auch eine gesteuerte Bewegung des Hypostoms begünstigt, in Art einer Klappe, die durch angesetzte Muskeln nach oben in Richtung der Mundöffnung fuhr und dabei half freßbare Partikel vom oder aus dem Sediment zuzuführen. Trilobiten, die dieser Art der Nahrungsaufnahme fröhnten, sind in der Regel kleinwüchsig und treten an ihren Fundorten bisweilen in großen Massen auf (bestes Beispiel: Elrathia kingii und andere). Dies liegt zum einen daran, daß sie am unteren Ende der Nahrungskette stehen (die berühmte Nahrungspyramide) und ihnen andererseits große Ressourcen zu Verfügung standen. Entsprechende Spurenfossilien des Typs Cruziana werden diesen Trilobiten zugeordnet, da sie beidseitig deutliche Schleifspuren von Wangenstacheln zeigen, die tief im Sediment abgedrückt wurden.

Nach Fortey und Owens handelt es sich bei Trilobiten mit natantem Hypostom also in der Regel um Partikel- oder Suspensionsfresser, die verwertbare organische Reste entweder vom Sediment abweideten oder aus ihm herausfiltrierten, wobei ihnen der "Hypostom-Aufzug" behilflich war. Ihr in der Regel großflächiges Auftreten in Kombination mit ihrer relativ geringen Größe weist unter Beachtung anderer Beobachtungen ebenfalls auf eine entsprechende Nahrungsbeschaffung hin.

Neben den Beutegreifern, Aasfressern, Partikel- und Suspensionsfressern bilden die Filtrierer eine interessante FiltriererGruppe. Trilobiten dieser Art hatten in der Regel einen großen Cephalonsaum der bisweilen regelrecht perforiert war, wie zum Beispiel bei den Vertretern der Gattungen Harpes, Onnia, etc. Man nimmt an, daß die Mundöffnung bei diesen Trilobiten weitaus höher lag als bei anderen Vertretern der Klasse, so daß sich innerhalb des Cephalons eine Art von "Filtrierkammer" bilden konnte, in der freßbare Partikel ausgesondert wurden. Die typische Morphologie für Filtrierer ist nach Fortey und Owens daher eine, bei der die Konvexität des Cephalons die des Thorax und Pygidiums deutlich übertrifft. Hinzu kommt, daß man bei einigen "verdächtigen" Arten festgestellt hat, daß sich das Hypostom in einer auffälligen, steil nach oben gerichteten Lage befand (Illaenus, Symphysurus, Ampyx) und damit ebenfalls mehr Raum für die besagte Filtrierkammer schuf. Geht man davon aus, daß sich die Mundöffnung auch bei diesen Trilobiten am hinteren Ende des Hypostoms befand, ist es schwierig vorstellbar, daß diese Trilobiten sich anders als durch Filtration ernährt haben könnten, denn einerseits ist die Mundöffnung zu weit vom Substrat entfernt um von dort Nahrung zu beziehen, andererseits ist das Hypostom ungeeignet in der besagten Stellung Beutetiere festzuhalten oder Aas aufzubereiten.

Es gibt allerdings zahlreiche Beispiele, in denen diese Kombination nicht vorhanden ist und die dennoch Filtrierer gewesen zu sein scheinen. Eine Diskussion dieser Dinge würde hier aber zu weit führen. Es bleibt festzuhalten daß nach Fortey und Owens Trilobiten mit auffällig breiten, eventuell zusätzlich perforierten Cephalonsäumen in Verbindung mit konvexen Kopfschilden als Filtrierer anzusehen sind, die innerhalb einer Filtrierkammer, gebildet aus dem Kopfschild, eine "Nährlösung" verarbeiteten, die sie selbst aus der Wassersäule bzw. aus absichtlich aufgewirbeltem und dadurch im Wasser erneut gelöstem Sediment gebildet hatten. Die Perforationen am Kopfschild dienten, insoweit vorhanden, als Austritts- bzw. Eintrittsöffnungen für Wasser und nicht freßbares Sediment.

Harpes sp.Problematisch stellen sich wieder einmal die Vertreter der Agnostida da, von denen allgemein eine pelagische Lebensweise angenommen wird. Wie diese Trilobiten sich ernährten ist umstritten und eine Auseinandersetzung mit allen Argumenten für die eine oder andere Annahme übersteigt die Absicht dieses Projekts. Gleiches gilt für andere, pelagische Trilobiten, die sich offenbar frei in der Wassersäule bewegten und auch dort ernährten. Unglücklicherweise wissen wir überhaupt nichts über die Extremitäten nicht-agnostoider Trilobiten. Es ist aber anzunehmen, daß sie sich von Plankton oder kleineren Planktonfressern ernährten, Betrachtungen darüber bleiben aber in hohem Maße spekulativ.

Ebenfalls anzumerken sind die Vertreter der Cheiruroidea, die zwar ein konterminantes Hypostom besitzen, das sich allerdings deutlich nach unten abneigt, in der Regel eine Granulation aufweist, keine Gabeln oder ähnliches besitzt, wie es für die Beutefresser angenommen wird, und dessen Entwicklung man nur als konservativ bezeichnen kann, will heißen es hat sich im Laufe der Jahrmillionen kaum verändert. Es scheint wahrscheinlich, daß diese Trilobiten eine spezialisierte Art der Nahrungsaufnahme entwickelt hatten - was diese aber war, bleibt bislang rätselhaft und kann hier nicht näher erläutert werden.

In jedem Falle besetzten die Trilobiten verschiedene, uns vielleicht bis heute teilweise unbekannte Nischen und dies ist sicherlich eines ihrer zahlreichen Geheimnisse, die ihren Erfolg begründeten.

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Samstag, 30.01.2010 16:32