Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
The rise of trilobitology

Trilobite workers past and present and pioneers who paved the way

Since the first documented mentioning of trilobites, these ancient creatures have been fascinating natural scientists, some of which became seekers themselves, discoverers and name givers to new species. Others turned into living legends among trilobite enthusiasts around the globe, often they were both at the same time. This sub-page pays tribute to some of the most important and some of the lesser known trilobite workers. They stand for so many more individuals who undertake to carry on the flag. The story on trilobites remains incomplete without the names of those who have dedicated large parts of their lives to these arthropods from the Palaeozoic and those who have paved the way in the past: universal scholars of natural history without whom things would be so much more difficult.


Alexander von Humboldt (1769-1859)

Alexander von Humboldt German natural scientist and universal scholar, co-founder of biogeography as an empirical science. His expeditions throughout Europe, to the South American continent, the USA and central Asia proved fundamental to many fields of modern science. He personally conducted extensive fieldwork in the areas of physics, chemistry, geology, mineralogy, volcanology, botany, zoology, climatology, oceanography and astronomy and did not stop short of economic geography, ethnology and demography. A universal genius and perhaps the most prominent German scientist and world-renowned scholar of all time. He paved the way for Charles Darwin who admired him and laid the proper groundwork for a whole range of disciplines that still concern today’s scientists. His five-volume work, Kosmos (1845), attempted to unify the various branches of scientific knowledge but was subtitled in such a way that Humboldt – despite of all his merits – gave clear indication of how far he still felt himself to be from discovering the last truths.


Joachim Barrande (1799-1883)

Joachim Barrande French naturalist and palaeontologist, a pioneer in exploring the fossilized remains of ancient life forms. An engineer by profession, he was supervising a construction site between Prague and Pilsen when, close to the village of Skryje, he stumbled upon the fossilized remains of trilobites. They appeared to him to be far better preserved than the ones he had seen from other countries like England. Barrande became fascinated with those fossils and decided to commit himself to the exploration of the fossilized faunas of Bohemia. He published 22 fantastic volumes on the Silurian, describing a countless number of trilobites, ammonites, brachiopods and molluscs. By the day he died he had managed to identify and name more than 3500 yet unidentified species. His fossil collection residing with the Prague Museum of Natural History is visited by palaeontologists from around the world still today and his achievement to correlate the appearance of index fossils to the age of the rock they are embedded in is universally recognized.


Alfred R. Wallace (1823-1913)

Alfred R. Wallace British natural scientist and zoologist. Wallace did extensive fieldwork, first in the Amazon River basin between 1848 and 1852 and then in the Malay Archipelago, where he identified the Wallace Line between Bali and Lombok that divides Indonesia into two distinct parts, one in which animals closely related to those of Australia are common, and one in which the species are largely of Asian origin. Russell is widely considered as the co-founder of the Theory of Evolution but unjustly did not receive the high profile publicity that is attached to Charles Darwin although his thinking at some point seems to have extended way beyond that of Darwin as far as evolution was concerned. Russell appears to have been a warm-hearted person and jealousy was not his cup of tea. His undisputed achievements in the field of biogeography and his co-discovery of natural selection do earn him a chapter on this web site, regardless of the fact that he never concerned himself very much with fossils.


Charles D. Walcott (1850-1927)

Charles D. Walcott American invertebrate palaeontologist. Despite the fact that Walcott did never own any scientific degree he was appointed not only director of the “U.S. Geological Survey” but went on to become Secretary of the “Smithsonian Institution” and president of the “American Association for the Advancement of Science”. An enthusiastic collector of trilobites he described dozens of new species to serve as index fossils for Cambrian rocks throughout the entire North American continent. Walcott is renowned for his 1909 discovery of what has become to be known as the Burgess Shale, a fossil-laden area of Cambrian strata in the Canadian Rocky Mountains where soft-tissue preservation allows valuable insights into the outer morphology of some of the earliest complex life forms known. Walcott identified important localities between Mount Wapta and Mount Field, now known as the Walcott Quarry. He published several accounts of his work in the Burgess Shale in the decades to come and contributed greatly to the understanding of the Cambrian fauna.


Rudolf Kaufmann (1941)

Rudolf Kaufmann German trilobite worker. Proved allopatric speciation in trilobites by closely investigating Upper Cambrian alum shales in Sweden, using the genus Olenus as an example. These shales contain an almost consistent series of sedimentary, fossiliferous rocks. Rudolf Kaufmann was able to monitor the appearance and disappearance of different species within the genus Olenus over time and the associated changes in morphology. Kaufmann can be regarded as one of the forgotten heroes of trilobitology. Being a Jew he became a refugee from Nazi rule in Germany and Europe until his arrest which also kept him separated from his Swedish wife Inge who he would never see again. After his escape he managed to get to Lithuania where he hoped to be able to find a passage to what was unoccupied Sweden – a country that served as a safe haven for refugees. In 1941, two Lithuanian security officers of the then German-occupied country recognized and shot Kaufmann to death.


Rudolf Richter (1881-1957) & Emma Richter (1888-1956)

Rudolf & Emma Richter After completing high school Rudolf Richter became a student of geology and associated natural sciences at the universities of Munich and Marburg. In 1932 he became executive director of the Senckenberg Nature Research Society and the Senckenberg Natural History Museum, a position he kept until 1952. He remained head of the geological and palaeontological department until his death in 1957. Rudolf Richter is well known for his extensive work on trilobites in which he was often joined by his wife Emma. He published important accounts of his findings and described countless numbers of new species. His achievements cannot be justly honoured without mentioning the enormous contributions to his life’s work by Emma Richter, who passed away just a few weeks before her husband left this world. The significance of Richter’s work for the advancement of our understanding of trilobites cannot be overrated.


Martin Basse (1960-)

Martin Basse Martin Basse is an honorary assistant at the Senckenberg Research Institute and Natural History Museum and follows in the footsteps of Wolfgang Struve and the Richters with his work on the Devonian of the Eifel region of Southwest Germany. His more important publications include the now five volumes on the trilobites of this famous area. He has contributed to the restructuring of the region’s stratigraphy and the correlation of Middle Devonian strata at the Eifelian/Givetian boundary. Some time ago he started a critical revision of the Senckenberg Museum’s extensive trilobite collection and came up with interesting, albeit sometimes controversial results. It should be emphasized, though, that in doing so he continued a tradition of Senckenberg to accept the necessity of constant revision of numerous Eifel taxa in light of new knowledge and material – something that cannot be contested by any serious observer of today’s trilobitology in Germany. Image used courtesy of Martin Basse.


Stephen J. Gould (1941-2002)

Stephen J. Gould American palaeontologist, evolutionary biologist and historian of science. Gould's greatest contribution to science was the theory of punctuated equilibrium which he developed with Niles Eldredge in the early seventies. The theory proposes that most evolution is marked by long periods of evolutionary stability, which is punctuated by rare instances of branching evolution. The theory was contrasted against phyletic gradualism, the popular idea that evolutionary change is marked by a pattern of smooth and continuous change in the fossil record. His works include Wonderful Life: The Burgess Shale and the Nature of History, in which this theory was propagated. Despite the fact that trilobites did not play any notable role in his work, he must be marked as an important defender of Darwin’s Theory of Evolution against the attacks by creationists. He remained an important voice in literature and daily press until he finally lost his 20 year battle against cancer.


Harry B. Whittington (1916-2010)

Harry B. WhittingtonBritish palaeontologist. During his long career at Harvard and Cambridge universities he contributed to the knowledge of trilobite morphology, ecology and evolution like hardly anyone else. He was rightfully regarded as the godfather of trilobitology and lectured to such eminent personalities as Richard Fortey. Notable among his scientific achievements is his leading role in the investigation of the unique fauna of the Burgess Shale, pretty much a mirror of what became known as the “Cambrian Explosion“. Whittington published very detailed and ground-breaking accounts of his findings in the 1950s. He co-authored the first volume of the 1997 revision of the Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O and continued to influence modern day trilobitology as emeritus professor at the University of Cambridge.until his death in 2010.

Brian D. E. Chatterton (1943-)

Brian D. E. ChattertonCanadian palaeontologist. Professor Brian D. E. Chatterton is without doubt one of today’s leading and most active trilobite workers. He is currently employed with the University of Alberta, Canada, and concerns himself mainly with trilobite ontogenesis, evolutionary developments in trilobites and trilobite systematics. He worked and works closely with such renowned personalities as Greg Edgecombe and Richard Fortey. In cooperation with the latter he erected the trilobite order Asaphida in 1988 (Fortey, R.A. and Chatterton, B.D.E. 1988. Classification of the trilobite suborder Asaphina. Journal of Paleontology, 31, 165-222.) He authored the chapters on trilobite ontogenesis in the 1997 revision of the Treatise and undoubtedly remains one of the most influential individuals in trilobitology. In recent years he has focused on the extraordinary diverse fossilized faunas of Morocco and has published some major works on the Devonian of the Anti-Atlas. Image used courtesy of Brian Chatterton. Thank you!


Richard A. Fortey (1946-)

Richard A. ForteyBritish palaeontologist. Collected his first trilobite at the age of 14, an encounter vividly described in one of his books. Thus began a lifelong fascination. Richard spent a good part of his life exploring, investigating and classifying trilobites, preferably from the Ordovician. He authored ground-breaking scientific papers on many aspects of trilobite morphology and ecology and wrote several books on palaeontology in general (Life: An Unauthorised Biography, 1997) and trilobites in particular (The Trilobite Exoskeleton, 1999; Feeding Habits in Trilobites, 1999; Trilobite!, 2000). He identified and named more than 150 new species and contributed considerably to higher level trilobite systematics and classification. He had a long career as a palaeontologist at the Natural History Museum in London and remains one of the most influential figures in trilobitology. Image used courtesy of Richard Fortey. I appreciate this!


Gregory D. Edgecombe (1964-)

Gregory D. Edgecombe Born in Canada, Gregory Edgecombe is currently employed with the palaeontology department at the Australian Museum in Sydney. His main interest in trilobites rests with trilobite ontogenesis and the systematic diagnosis of Ordovician, Silurian and Devonian taxa found in Australia and South America. His important works include efforts to determine the correct position of the class trilobita within the phylum Arthropoda (Edgecombe, G.D. and Ramsköld, L. 1999. Relationships of Cambrian Arachnata and the systematic position of Trilobita. J. Paleont., 73-2, 263-287; Scholtz, G. and Edgecombe, G.D., Heads, Hox and the phylogenetic position of trilobites.) Additional papers, important to the better understanding of trilobites, resulted from cooperation with Prof. Brian Chatterton et al. Image provided by and used courtesy of Gregory D. Edgecombe. Thanks, Greg! ;-)


Bruce S. Lieberman (1966-)

Bruce S. Lieberman American palaeontologist. Bruce Lieberman is currently employed with the University of Kansas, Lawrence, as a professor at the Department of Geology and as senior curator, Division of Invertebrate Paleontology – insiders will immediately realize that it is the University of Kansas Press which publishes the Treatise! His work includes research into macro-evolutionary mechanisms, in particular the reconstruction of phylogenetic patterns in arthropods with a focus on trilobites. He co-authored several scientific works on trilobites together with Edgecombe, Eldredge, Adrain and Kloc. He is also interested in subjects like plate tectonics, palaeobiogeography and climate change during the planet’s past, a field in which the radiation of trilobites during the Palaeozoic can be a major source of information. Bruce Lieberman is surely someone who is looking for the bigger picture. Image used courtesy of Bruce Lieberman. Thanks!


Gerald J. Kloc (1948-)

Gerald J. Kloc American palaeontologist. Gerry Kloc is currently employed as a geological technician at the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at the University of Rochester, N. Y. Trilobites have always been one of his great passions. He is an extraordinary preparator of fossilized remains and has made important contributions to the understanding of New York’s trilobite fauna. In cooperation with Tom Whiteley and Carlton Brett he has co-authored a beautiful pictorial guide (Trilobites of New York). More than a dozen new genera were erected in 1997 when he co-authored a scientific paper on the Asteropyginae. (LIEBERMAN, B.S. & KLOC, G.J. 1997. Evolutionary and biogeographic patterns in the Asteropyginae (Trilobita, Devonian) Delo, 1935. Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History 232: 1-127.) Image provided by and used courtesy of Gerry Kloc. Thanks a lot!

Recommend our web site!

Last Update : 09/04/2010 9:44 PM

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Die Eroberung eines Fachgebiets

Entdecker & Experten der Trilobitenkunde und ihre Wegbereiter

Seit ihrer erstmaligen schriftlichen Erwähnung haben die Trilobiten die Naturkundler interessiert und fasziniert. Manche von ihnen wurden selbst zu Suchenden, zu Entdeckern und Namensgebern neuer Spezies, andere zu lebenden Legenden der Trilobitenforschung, sehr oft beides zugleich. Diese Seite ist eine Hommage an einige der wichtigsten und verdientesten unter ihnen - die stellvertretend für unzählige andere stehen - sowie aktive Arbeiter die die Fackel weitertragen! Die Geschichte der Trilobiten ist nicht vollständig ohne die Namen derjenigen, die ihr Leben diesen Geschöpfen des Erdaltertums gewidmet haben, sowie ihren früheren Wegbereitern, zumeist Universalgelehrten auf dem Gebiet der Naturforschung, ohne die eine nähere und objektive Betrachtung des Sachgebiets gar nicht möglich gewesen wäre


Alexander von Humboldt (1769-1859)

Alexander von HumboldtDeutscher Naturforscher und Mitbegründer der Geographie als empirischer Wissenschaft. Seine Forschungsreisen führten ihn über Europa hinaus nach Lateinamerika, in die USA sowie nach Zentralasien. Wissenschaftliche Feldforschung betrieb er persönlich u. a. in den Bereichen Physik, Chemie, Geologie, Mineralogie, Vulkanologie, Botanik, Zoologie, Klimatologie, Ozeanographie und Astronomie, aber auch zu Fragen der Wirtschaftsgeographie, der Ethnologie und der Demographie. Ein Universalgenie und vermutlich der einzige wirklich weltweit bekannte deutsche Wissenschaftler. Er war Wegbereiter Darwins, der ihn hoch verehrte, und leistete unverzichtbare Vorarbeit für eine Unzahl an Forschungsbereichen, mit denen sich die heutige Wissenschaft auseinandersetzt. Sein größtes Werk "Kosmos- Entwurf einer physischen Weltbeschreibung" beweist schon im Titel daß von Humboldt sich - trotz seiner großen Leistungen - darüber im Klaren war daß er noch weit davon entfernt war die letzten Wahrheiten gefunden zu haben.


Joachim Barrande (1799-1883)

Joachim BarrandeFranzösischer Naturwissenschaftler und Paläontologe, ein Pionier der Fossilienforschung. Ursprünglich von Beruf Ingenieur, entdeckte er 1832 bei den Vorarbeiten zu einem geplanten Bauprojekt zwischen Prag und Pilsen bei Skryje durch Zufall fossile Reste von Trilobiten. Diese erschienen ihm weitaus besser erhalten als die, welche ihm aus anderen Ländern wie England bekannt waren. Barrande faßte den Entschluß, sich zukünftig mit der Erforschung der fossilen Fauna Böhmens zu beschäftigen. Barrande beschrieb in 22 großartigen Bänden über die Silur-Formation unzählige Trilobiten, Ammoniten, Brachiopoden und Muscheln. Bis zu seinem Tod hatte er mehr als 3.500 neue Arten bestimmt und benannt. Noch heute ist seine Fossiliensammlung in Prag das Ziel von Paläontologen aus aller Welt und seine Leistung, das Alter von Gesteinsschichten anhand der in ihnen vorkommenden Leitfossilien, im speziellen Trilobiten, zu bestimmen, wird bis zum heutigen Tage gewürdigt.


Alfred R. Wallace (1823-1913)

Alfred R. WallaceBritischer Naturwissenschaftler und Zoologe. Unabhängig von Charles Darwin erarbeitete Alfred Russel Wallace die Evolutionstheorie. Er bereiste von 1848 bis 1852 das Amazonasgebiet, besuchte den Malaiischen Archipel und betrieb umfangreiche Studien. Er teilte die tierischen Bewohner des Malaiischen Archipels durch die Wallace’sche Linie zwischen Bali und Lombok in ein asiatisches und australisches Tierreich. Wallace gilt als Wegbegleiter der Abstammungslehre, hat aber zu Unrecht nie den Bekanntheitsgrad Darwins erreicht, obwohl er Darwin letztlich in manchen Bereichen voraus war und dieser seine Erkenntnisse nutzte. Er war ein großherziger Mensch, dem Neid ein Fremdwort war. Seine unter Laien mangelhaft gewürdigten aber unbestrittenen Leistungen und die sich daraus ergebenden Implikationen auch für die Paläontologie qualifizieren ihn für eine Nennung auf unserer Seite, auch wenn er sich mit Fossilien nur am Rande beschäftigt haben mag.


Charles D. Walcott (1850-1927)

Charles D. WalcottAmerikanischer Wissenschaftler. Trotz fehlendem geologischen Grad wurde er aufgrund seiner Fähigkeiten Direktor sowohl des "U.S. Geological Survey", der "Smithsonian Institution" und der "National Academy of Sciences". Er war begeisterter Trilobitensammler und gab Dutzenden von ihnen Namen, die fortan als Leitfossilien für Kambrium-Schichten auf dem gesamten nordamerikanischen Kontinent dienten. Berühmt ist er insbesondere für die Entdeckung des kambrischen Burgess-Schiefers in den kanadischen Rocky Mountains im Jahre 1909, der sich durch einzigartige Fossilien mit Weichteilerhaltung auszeichnet. Walcott entdeckte in der Folge zwei Fundstätten zwischen Mount Wapta und Mount Field. Während der nächsten Jahrzehnte publizierte er viele Beschreibungen der Burgess-Fossilien, eine Leistung, die auch durch seine später nachgewiesenen Mißinterpretationen kaum geschmälert werden sollte.


Rudolf Kaufmann (gest. 1941)

Rudolf KaufmannDeutscher Trilobitenforscher. Durch seine Untersuchung von spätkambrischen Alaunschiefern in Schweden, die als "Kondensationshorizont" eine nahezu lückenlose Abfolge sedimentärer Ablagerungen samt fossilen Einschlüssen enthalten, konnte Kaufmann am Beispiel der Trilobitenarten von Olenus durch die beobachteten Wechsel der Arten und Veränderungen der Morphologie eine allopatrische Artbildung auch bei Trilobiten nachweisen. Kaufmann gehört zu den vergessenen Helden der Trilobitenforschung. Von Geburt Jude war er jahrelang auf der Flucht vor den Nationalsozialisten, wurde inhaftiert und blieb getrennt von seiner schwedischen Lebensgefährtin Inge, die er nie wieder sehen sollte. Er schlug sich nach Litauen durch, wo er 1941 in Kaunas auf eine Gelegenheit hoffte, nach Schweden zu entkommen. Zwei Sicherheitsbeamte, die ihn zufällig erkannten, erschossen ihn.


Rudolf Richter (1881-1957) & Emma Richter (1888-1956)

Rudolf & Emma RichterNach Absolvierung des Gymnasiums studierte Rudolf Richter in München und Marburg Geologie und verwandte Naturwissenschaften. Seit 1932 war er geschäftsführender Direktor der Senckenbergischen Naturforschenden Gesellschaft und des Natur-Museums Senckenberg. Er leitete das Geologische Institut bis 1952, blieb jedoch an der Spitze der geologisch-paläontologischen Abteilung des Museums bis zu seinem Tod. Rudolf Richter hat, oft zusammen mit seiner Frau Emma, maßgebliche Beiträge zur Trilobitenkunde geleistet, bedeutende Werke verfaßt, zahllose Spezies beschrieben und zum allgemeinen Verständnis der Klasse erheblichen Beitrag geleistet. Man kann das Lebenswerk Rudolf Richters nicht darstellen, ohne gleichzeitig des Anteils seiner Frau zu gedenken. Sie starb nur wenige Wochen vor ihrem Gatten. Richters Bedeutung für die deutsche Trilobitenkunde kann ohne Übertreibung mit den Leistungen Whittingtons und Forteys gleichgesetzt werden.


Martin Basse (geb. 1960)

Martin Basse Martin Basse ist als ehrenamtlicher Mitarbeiter am Forschungsinstitut und Naturmuseum Senckenberg tätig und steht mit seinen Arbeiten über das Devon der Eifel und anderer Regionen in einer Linie mit den Richters und Wolfgang Struve. Zu seinen populärsten Arbeiten zählt unzweifelhaft die Reihe über die Eifel-Trilobiten, von der bereits vier Bände erschienen sind. Seine Beiträge zur stratigraphischen Neugliederung und den Korrelationen des Mitteldevons im Eifel/Givet-Grenzbereich sind ebenso zu nennen. Vor kurzem begann er mit einer kritischen Bestandsaufnahme der Trilobiten-Bestände des Naturmuseums. Besonders hervorzuheben ist aber, daß er mit seinen Arbeiten eine Senckenberg-Tradition aufrecht erhält und der Notwendigkeit zur Revision zahlreicher Taxa der Eifel Rechnung trägt - ein Verdienst, das gegenwärtig von kaum einem anderen deutschen Trilobitenkundler in Anspruch genommen werden kann. Bild mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Martin Basse. Danke! :-)


Stephen J. Gould (1941-2002)

Stephen J. GouldAmerikanischer Paläontologe und Publizist. Gould war einer der Begründer der "Punctuated Equilibrium"-Theorie. Er argumentierte, dass gewisse Veränderungen in der Entwicklung von Lebewesen schnell erfolgen mussten (diskontinuierlich), damit sie von der natürlichen Selektion erhalten werden konnten. Unter seinen Werken findet sich Wonderful Life: The Burgess Shale and the Nature of History, das weithin zu Kontroversen führte, da Gould von Walcotts Ansatz einer unumschränkt linearen Entwicklung in der Biologie Abstand nahm und dem Zufall eine große Bedeutung beimaß. Obwohl er sich nicht speziell mit Trilobiten beschäftigte, trug er als Evolutionsbiologie enorm zu ihrer Bedeutung bei. Er verteidigte die Darwinsche Evolutionstheorie gegen die Angriffe des Kreationismus und war bis zu seinem Tod durch Krebs, den er 20 Jahre lang bekämpft hatte, eine immer gehörte Stimme in Literatur und Tagespresse.


Harry B. Whittington (1916-2010)

Harry B. WhittingtonBritischer Paläontologe. Während seiner langen Karriere an den Universitäten von Harvard und Cambridge hat Harry B. Whittington, wie kein anderer, immense Beiträge zur Kenntnis über die Morphologie, Ökologie und Evolution der Trilobiten geleistet. Er gilt zurecht als der große alte Mann der Trilobitenforschung, bei dem Doktoranden wie Fortey und andere studierten. Zu seinen großen wissenschaftlichen Leistungen zählt seine Führungsrolle bei der Erforschung der einzigartigen Fauna des Burgess-Schiefers als Spiegelbild der "kambrischen Explosion". Bereits in den 50er Jahren verfaßte er dazu detaillierte und wegweisende Beschreibungen. Als Mitverfasser der Treatise von 1997 behielt Harry B. Whittington bis in die Gegenwart maßgeblichen Einfluß auf die Trilobitenkunde. Bis zu seinem Tod in 2010 blieb er Emeritus Professor an der Universität von Cambridge.

Brian D. E. Chatterton (geb. 1943)

Brian D. E. ChattertonKanadischer Paläontologe. Professor Brian D. E. Chatterton gehört gegenwärtig zu den führenden Wissenschaftlern im Bereich der Trilobitenforschung. Er ist an der Universität von Alberta in Kanada tätig und beschäftigt sich vorwiegend mit der Ontogenese, der evolutionären Entwicklung als auch der Systematik der Trilobiten. Er arbeitete mit Größen wie Fortey und Edgecombe zusammen und errichtete zusammen mit dem Erstgenannten im Jahre 1988 die Ordnung der Asaphida (Fortey, R.A. and Chatterton, B.D.E. 1988. Classification of the trilobite suborder Asaphina. Journal of Paleontology, 31, 165-222.) In der revidierten Treatise von 1997 verfaßte er die Abteilung über die Ontogenese der Trilobiten und ist damit zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt eine der bestimmenden Persönlichkeiten im Bereich der Trilobitenforschung insgesamt. In naher Zukunft sind von ihm einige Arbeiten über marokkanische Taxa zu erwarten, die dringend der Revision bedürfen. Image used courtesy of Brian Chatterton. Thank you!


Richard A. Fortey (geb. 1946)

Richard A. ForteyBritischer Paläontologe. Im zarten Alter von 14 Jahren fand Richard Fortey seinen ersten Trilobiten. Seit diesem Tag hat er sich der Erforschung und Klassifizierung der Trilobiten, speziell der ordovizischen, mit Haut und Haar verschrieben. Er verfaßte zahlreiche Abhandlungen und mehrere Bücher über Paläontologie (Life: An Unauthorised Biography, 1997) und Trilobiten im speziellen (The Trilobite Exoskeleton, 1999; Feeding Habits in Trilobites, 1999; Trilobite!, 2000). Über 150 neue Spezies wurden von ihm identifiziert und benannt. Seine Systematiken der Trilobitenordnungen sind maßgeblich und richtungsweisend. Professor Richard A. Fortey war lange als führender Paläontologe im Department of Palaeontology, The Natural History Museum in London tätig und bleibt weiterhin eine der entscheidenden Autoritäten auf dem Gebiet der Trilobitenkunde. Image used courtesy of Richard Fortey. I appreciate this!


Gregory D. Edgecombe (geb. 1964)

Gregory D. EdgecombeIn Kanada gebürtig ist Greg Edgecombe gegenwärtig im Bereich Paläontologie am Australian Museum in Sydney tätig. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte im Sektor Trilobiten liegen vor allem auf der Ontogenese und systematischen Diagnose ordovizischer, silurischer und devonischer Trilobiten, speziell aus Australien und Südamerika. Hervorzuheben sind seine Arbeiten zur Positionsbestimmung der Klasse Trilobita innerhalb des Arthropodenstammes (Edgecombe, G.D. and Ramsköld, L. 1999. Relationships of Cambrian Arachnata and the systematic position of Trilobita. J. Paleont., 73-2, 263-287; Scholtz, G. and Edgecombe, G.D., Heads, Hox and the phylogenetic position of trilobites.) Mit Brian Chatterton et al. verfaßte er weitere wichtige Aufsätze, die wesentlich zum Verständnis der Trilobita beigetragen haben. Image provided by and used courtesy of Gregory D. Edgecombe. Thanks, Greg! ;-)


Bruce S. Lieberman (geb. 1966)

Bruce S. LiebermanAmerikanischer Paläontologe. Bruce Lieberman ist an der Universität von Kansas in Lawrence als Associate Professor tätig. Kenner der Materie werden sich erinnern daß diese Universität die Treatise verlegt! Seine Arbeit umfaßt die Erforschung von makroevolutionären Abläufen, wobei die Rekonstruktion von phylogenetischen Mustern bei den Arthropoden und hier insbesondere bei den Trilobiten einen großen Raum einnimmt. Zusammen mit Edgecombe, Eldredge, Adrain, Kloc und anderen war er maßgeblich an bedeutenden Arbeiten zur Trilobitenkunde beteiligt. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt er sich mit bedeutenden Themen wie der Plattentektonik und dem Klimawandel im Laufe der Erdgeschichte, wobei ihm die Erforschung der Radiation (Ausbreitung) der Trilobiten im Paläozoikum wichtige Hinweise liefert. Bruce Lieberman ist definitiv jemand, der nach dem "big picture" Ausschau hält und die Dinge in einem größeren Zusammhang sieht. Image used courtesy of Bruce Lieberman. Thanks!


Gerald J. Kloc (geb. 1948)

Gerald J. KlocAmerikanischer Paläontologe. Gerry Kloc ist als Geological Technician in der Abteilung Earth and Environmental Sciences an der Universität von Rochester im US-Bundesstaat New York tätig. Trilobiten sind eine seiner größten Leidenschaften. Er ist ein hervorragender Präparator und hat speziell im Hinblick auf die Trilobitenfauna im Staate New York wichtige Beiträge geleistet. Er ist, zusammen mit Tom Whiteley und Carlton Brett Mitautor eines entsprechenden Bildbandes (Trilobites of New York). In Zusammenarbeit mit Bruce Lieberman konnte er im Jahre 1997 ein gutes Dutzend neue Gattungen aufstellen, z. B. Coltraneia und Phillipsmithiana (LIEBERMAN, B.S. & KLOC, G.J. 1997. Evolutionary and biogeographic patterns in the Asteropyginae (Trilobita, Devonian) Delo, 1935. Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History 232: 1-127.) Image provided by and used courtesy of Gerry Kloc. Thanks a lot!

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Samstag, 04.09.2010 13:28