Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

News


Trilobita-Banner
Introduction

What are trilobites anyway ?

Trilobite Cheirurus Surely, this would be an excellent question to be asked in any popular quiz show, as most people are not acquainted with this subject at all (not even quiz masters! <g>). It is quite common for trilobite collectors to be confronted with irritated glances when talking about their field of study. But we are determined to do something about that and revive these little bugs in the hearts and minds of our fellow human beings. Therefore, please be presented with the minimum requirements in knowledge about trilobites for the average person:

Trilobites are dorsally armored animals with a segmented body plan which existed until approximately 250 million years before the present day and which played a major part in the ecology of early life in the ancient oceans. They became extinct way before the much more popular (especially with kids) dinosaurs conquered the planet, and their fossils – alongside other marine life forms - have been serving as stratigraphic indicators in sedimentary rocks of the Palaeozoic ever since. The start of the Palaeozoic marks the first era in which we can find a radiation of highly developed life forms – life forms which – according to most leading scientists – represent but a screenshot of a fast and furious evolution that seems to have started long before we can find the first trilobite fossils embedded in rocks. Life seems to be much older than could be imagined from the first appearance of trilobites.

Trilobite Scabriscutellum Trilobites belonged to the first hard-shelled arthropods, a stem of animals with a segmented body plan and in many cases multiple pairs of legs that worked in a coordinated way to propell the body in whatever direction. Unfortunately those legs (and antennae) are scarcely preserved as fossils because of their plain organic consistence in the living animal. (Under exceptional circumstances they were fossilized in one way or another and certain quarries yield such fossils – e. g. the famous Burgess Shale in British Columbia, Chenjiang in China and the Hunsruck Slates in the Southwest of Germany, where extremities are preserved as pyrite impressions.) They form the extinct class of the Trilobita, consisting of nine accepted orders, more than 150 families, over 5,000 genera and well exceeding 15,000 described species (as of 2002). Since there are no direct progenitors, the frequently used description in today’s dictionaries, decrying trilobites as an “ancient type of crab” is but completely false. Today we regard the recent Limulidae or horseshoe crabs as the most closely related existing life form.

First notes on trilobites: In 1698 a British clergyman, the reverend Dr. Edward Lhwyd, described a fossil which he believed to be the remains of a type of flatfish or flounder, and he mentioned this idea in a letter to his friend Martin Lister. Lhwyd had found a good number of these fossils in limestones near the town of Llandeilo in South Wales and had drawn sketches of them (see. ill.). But it soon became clear that his fossils did not represent a common and disdainful ancient flounder but a new and as yet unknown type of marine life form. His “flatfish”, which can be found in abundance in Ordovician rock formations in Wales, turned out to be remains of a creature which would soon become known as “trilobite”, and in 1822 it received the melodious name Ogygiocarella debuchii (for the scholars of Greek mythology: This trilobite genus is named after Ogygia, the seventh daughter of Amphion and Niobe and not after the island on which the brave Ulysses continued to prove his manhood to the sensible nymph Calypso for seven sultry years).

"Flounder" Ogygiocarella In the following years more and more of these fossils were excavated – collectors now knew what they had to look out for – and in the following century, once it had been realised that these aninmals had to be assigned to a a class of its own (WALCH, 1771), they quickly advanced to drawing the attention of many interested natural scientists and collectors. What was even more important: these fossils could be used to determine the age of the rocks they were found in.

More than 300 years after their first appearance in literature we still find new and describe as yet unknown species every single year, most of them from the northern parts of Africa. This makes trilobites one of the most diverse groups among all extinct life forms. And within their basic body plan there is an enormous variety in size and morphology.

Although dinosaurs may be the more famous of fossils, trilobites do belong to the most cherished of objects in palaeontology (the science of prehistoric life). The fascination they create has never been described more properly than by the author of one of the first popular books on trilobites:

"Trilobites tell me of ancient marine shores teeming with budding life, when silence was only broken by the wind, the breaking of the waves, or by the thunder of storms and volcanoes. The struggle of survival already had its toll in the seas, but only natural laws and events determined the fate of evolving life forms. No footprints were to be found on those shores, as life had not yet conquered land. Genocide had not been invented as yet, and the threat to life on Earth resided only with the comets and asteroids." - Riccardo Levi-Setti

Trilobite Destombesina Enormous diversity: The smallest known trilobite is just 1mm in length (Acanthopleurella sp.) while the largest reached more than 70 cms (Isotelus rex). In view of such eminent diversity in form and size we can only speculate on the different ecological roles different trilobites played, some of which lived as floating plancton while others lead a benthic or semi-benthic life, filtering sediment for food particles, scavenging or preying on other animals in the Palaeozoic seas.

Most trilobites reached only a few centimeters in length and it is obvious that their attractivity to a large extend has to be attributed to their handiness, making it possible to hold a complete specimen in the palm of your hand. Try that trick with your average carnivorous dino skeleton!

© Image of Scabriscutellum courtesy of PaleoDirect


The general trilobite body plan

Trilobite Independent of size and outer shape – many trilobites display a completely different and sometimes much more spectacular appearance than the example in our line drawing (many examples can be admired in our various galleries) – all fossilized trilobite remains follow a similar if not identical general body plan.

The calcified (hardened by mineralization) exoskeleton consists of three major parts: The cephalon or head shield, a segmented thorax (upper body or chest) and the pygidium (tail shield) as shown in our sketch.

Size and shape of the cephalon, the number of thoracic segments as well as the form and size of the tail shield vary considerably from species to species, but the general layout is predominant throughout the whole class.

 

All line drawings on this page ©1999, 2000 by S. M. Gon III

three lobes

Popular misconception: The name "trilobite" (three lobes) does, however, not refer to the three main parts that we described above, but reflects on the fact that all trilobites feature a long, median axial lobe (rhachis) which is usually separated by clearly visible furrows from the side or pleural lobes as shown on the right. The one median and the two side lobes, which extend over the whole length of the trilobite body are the characteristics that gave the trilobite its name and they are common in all species, regardless of their other morphological peculiarities and their different sizes. In fact there are trilobites in which this lateral segmentation seems to have all but vanished in the course of evolution (e. g. Homanolotus which looks like a fat worm rather than a trilobite). But this is just an effacement, a reduction in and flattening of morphological detail in the course of adapting to their specific habitats and their feeding habits.

In the thorax, the pleural lobes are formed by very agile and movable segments, connected in the living animal by what we believe was strong but flexible organic tissue (perhaps chitinous), which enabled most trilobites to enroll for protection when being attacked by a predator or when facing any other perilous situation. Many trilobites had tipped posterior appendages to their head shield, the so-called genal spines. Quite a few owned spiny extensions to their pleural segments, therefore called pleural spines.

Birth of a name: The name "trilobitae" (later amended to "trilobita") was first introduced in 1771 by the German professor Johann Ernst Immanuel Walch (* August 29, 1725 in Jena; † December 1,1778 in Jena; German theologian and geologist), but it took until the beginning of the 19th century for this name to prevail in the nomenclature of palaeontology (WALCH , J.E.I. 1771. Die Naturgeschichte der Versteinerungen zur Erläuterung der Knorrischen Sammlung von Merkwürdigkeiten der Natur. Nürnberg). The Swedish scientist G. Wahlenberg proposed the name "Entomostracites" in 1821 to denote the class and five years later his fellow countryman J. W. Dalman still preferred another name - "Palaeades". However it was Walch’s creation that finally made it through due to its obvious and direct relation to the distinct segmentation of the trilobite body.

More detailed descriptions of the trilobite body plan can be found on the following sub-page: Morphology.

All line drawings on this page ©1999, 2000 by S. M. Gon III

Recommend our web site!

Last Update : 12/12/2010 11:46 AM

Back to the top

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Einführung

Was sind Trilobiten ?

Trilobit CheirurusDiese Frage wäre bei dem beliebten Fernsehquiz "Wer wird Millionär" im hohen Gewinnbereich sicher außerordentlich gut aufgehoben, denn die wenigsten Menschen können mit dem Begriff auf Anhieb etwas anfangen (nicht einmal Günter Jauch <g>). Für gewöhnlich werden Sammler, wenn sie auf ihr Hobby angesprochen werden oder von diesem berichten, mit irritiert fragenden Blicken konfrontiert. Diesem unhaltbaren Zustand müssen und wollen wir abhelfen. Deshalb hier die Mindestanforderungen für einen durchschnittlichen Bildungsbürger:

Trilobiten sind oberseitig gepanzerte, in ihrem Körperbau gegliederte Tiere, die bis vor ca. 250 Millionen Jahren in den Meeren des Planeten existierten, und die Ökologie und das Leben in den Ozeanen der Vorzeit maßgeblich mitbestimmten. Sie starben bereits aus, lange bevor die weitaus bekannteren (und vor allem bei Kindern äußerst beliebten) Dinosaurier die Erde eroberten, und sind heute Leitfossilien für das Paläozoikum oder Erdaltertum. Der Beginn des Paläozoikums markiert den ersten Zeitabschnitt, für den die weltweite Ausweitung bereits hochentwickelter, komplexer Lebensformen nachgewiesen werden kann - Lebensformen, die nach Meinung führender Wissenschaftler jedoch lediglich eine urzeitliche Momentaufnahme der schon damals fortschreitenden Evolution darstellen.

Trilobit ScabriscutellumDie Trilobiten gehörten zu den ersten hartschaligen Arthropoden oder Gliederfüßern, einem Tierstamm mit gegliedertem Körperbau und vielen koordiniert arbeitenden Beinen (die zusammen mit den Antennen der Tiere aufgrund ihrer Beschaffenheit leider fast nie fossil erhalten geblieben sind; Ausnahmen sind z. B. die Fundstätten Burgess Shale in British Columbia, Chenjiang in China oder der Hunsrückschiefer, die aufgrund besonderer Umstände auch eine Pseudoweichteilerhaltung aufweisen können). Sie bilden die ausgestorbene Klasse der Trilobita, bestehend aus heute neun anerkannten Ordnungen, über 150 Familien, über 5.000 Gattungen und mehr als 15.000 beschriebenen Arten oder Spezies (Stand: 2002). Da es keine direkten Nachkommen der Trilobiten gibt, geht die oftmals benutzte und häufig selbst in aktuellen Lexika zu findende Bezeichnung "Urkrebs" absolut fehl. Als nächste Verwandte gelten die rezenten Limulidae.

Erstmalige Erwähnung: Im Jahre 1698 beschrieb ein britischer Geistlicher, der Reverend Dr. Edward Lhwyd, zum ersten mal ein Fossil, das er für die Überreste einer Art von Plattfisch hielt, und erwähnte diese Einschätzung auch in einem Brief an seinen Freund Martin Lister. In  Kalksteinen bei der südwalisischen Stadt Llandeilo war er auf eine große Anzahl dieser "Plattfische" gestoßen, die er auch skizzierte (siehe Abb. rechts). Wie sich jedoch bald herausstellte, handelte es sich nicht um irgendeine Art schnöder Urzeit-Scholle, sondern um einen neuen, bislang weitgehend noch unbekannten Typus von Versteinerungen ehemaliger Meeresbewohner. Der "Plattfisch", der in den ordovizischen Gesteinen von Wales gehäuft auftritt, entpuppte sich später als Überrest eines Geschöpfes, das als "Trilobit" bekannt werden würde, und bekam 1822 den wohlklingenden Namen Ogygiocarella debuchii (Für die Freunde der griechischen Mythologie: Der Trilobit ist benannt nach Ogygia, der siebten Tochter von Amphion und Niobe, nicht nach der gleichnamigen Insel, auf der der tapfere Odysseus der sinnlichen Nymphe Calypso sieben Jahre lang seines Manneskraft bewies).

"Plattfisch" OgygiocarellaNach der Entdeckung weiterer Fossilien dieser Art - bald stieß man, nachdem man erst einmal gezielt danach suchte, auf immer mehr dieser ungewöhnlichen Versteinerungen - und insbesondere nachdem man im darauf folgenden Jahrhundert erkannt hatte, daß es sich um eine eigene Klasse ausgestorbener Lebewesen handelte (WALCH, 1771), avancierten die Trilobiten schnell zu bedeutender Stellung und erregten weitläufiges Interesse innerhalb der Gemeinde der Naturforscher. Noch wichtiger: Man konnte sie als Indikatoren für die Altersbestimmung von Gesteinsschichten benutzen!

Über 300 Jahre nach ihrer erstmaligen schriftlichen Erwähnung werden, vor allem im nördlichen Afrika, auch heute noch jedes Jahr bislang unbekannte, neue Arten gefunden und bestimmt. Dies macht die Trilobiten zu einer der divergentesten Gruppen unter allen ausgestorbenen Lebewesen, und innerhalb des grundlegenden Bauplans der Trilobiten gibt es eine unglaubliche Vielfalt an Größe und Form.

Obwohl die Dinosaurier als Fossilien wohl am bekanntesten sind, gehören die Trilobiten doch mit zu den Lieblingsobjekten, mit denen sich die Paläontologie oder Lehre von den Lebensformen früherer Erdperioden beschäftigt. Die von ihnen ausgehende Faszination hat kaum jemand besser beschrieben als der Autor eines der Standardwerke über Trilobiten:

"Trilobites tell me of ancient marine shores teeming with budding life, when silence was only broken by the wind, the breaking of the waves, or by the thunder of storms and volcanoes. The struggle of survival already had its toll in the seas, but only natural laws and events determined the fate of evolving life forms. No footprints were to be found on those shores, as life had not yet conquered land. Genocide had not been invented as yet, and the threat to life on Earth resided only with the comets and asteroids." - Riccardo Levi-Setti

Trilobit DestombesinaEnorme Vielfalt: Der kleinste bekannte Trilobit ist gerade mal knapp einen Millimeter groß (Acanthopleurella sp.), während die größten mehr als 70 Zentimeter lang wurden (Isotelus rex). Angesichts einer solchen Vielfalt an Form und Größe kann man darüber spekulieren, welche ökologische Rolle die verschiedenen Trilobiten-Arten einnahmen, die sich vermutlich sowohl als Plankton als auch schwimmend oder auf dem Sediment kriechend fortbewegten und ihren Lebensunterhalt wahrscheinlich sowohl als Sedimentfiltrierer, Aasfresser oder auch Beutejäger "verdienten".

Die meisten Trilobiten waren einige Zentimeter lang, und ein nicht unbeträchtlicher Teil ihrer Attraktivität für Paläontologen und Sammler ist wohl der Tatsache zuzuschreiben, daß man aus diesem Grund ein komplettes Fossil auf der Fläche einer Hand halten und ausgiebig begutachten kann. Versuchen Sie das mal mit einem durchschnittlichen Saurierskelett! ;-)

© Image of Scabriscutellum courtesy of PaleoDirect


Der allgemeine Trilobiten-Bauplan

Trilo-BauplanUnabhängig von ihrer Körpergröße und jeweils eigenen äußeren Form - viele Trilobiten haben ein gänzlich anderes, und bisweilen weitaus spektakuläreres äußeres Erscheinungsbild als unsere schematische Darstellung, zahlreiche Beispiele dafür sind in unserer Galerie zu finden - besitzen alle fossil erhalten gebliebenen Trilobiten einen ähnlichen, wenn nicht identischen Aufbau.

Der kalzifizierte (durch Mineralisierung gehärtete) Panzer besteht dabei aus drei Hauptbestandteilen: Dem Cephalon (Kopfschild), einem gegliederten Thorax (Oberkörper) und dem Pygidium (Schwanzschild), wie hier dargestellt.

Form und Größe des Cephalons, die Anzahl der Thoraxsegmente sowie die Ausgestaltung und Größe des Pygidiums variieren von Art zu Art, dieser Grundaufbau ist jedoch klassenübergreifend vorhanden.

 

All line drawings on this page ©1999, 2000 by S. M. Gon III

die drei Lobi

Populärer Irrtum: Der Name "Trilobit" (drei Lappen) bezieht sich entgegen weitläufiger Meinung aber nicht auf die vorgenannten drei Hauptbestandteile, sondern auf die Tatsache, daß alle Trilobiten einen langen, mittleren Axial-Lobus (Rhachis) besitzen, der durch - in der Regel - deutlich sichtbare Furchen von den seitlich liegenden Pleural-Lobi abgegrenzt wird, wie rechts dargestellt. Diese insgesamt drei Bereiche, die sich vom Cephalon bis zum Pygidium erstrecken, sind das, was dem Trilobiten seinen Namen gibt, und sind allen Trilobitenarten eigen, trotz ihrer sonstigen Vielfalt an Form und Größe. Zwar haben manche Trilobiten im Laufe der Evolution eine Morphologie entwickelt, die diese Dreiteilung nur noch bedingt erkennen lässt (z. B. Homanolotus, der eher einem großen Wurm gleicht), dabei handelt es sich aber lediglich um ein Effacement, sprich eine Abschwächung und Verflachung der morphologischen Eigenheiten im Zuge der Anpassung an den jeweiligen Lebensraum, an Ernährungs- und Umgebungsbedingungen.

Die seitlichen Lobi werden im Bereich des Thorax aus den sogenannten Pleuren gebildet, die gegeneinander äußerst beweglich sind, und es vielen Trilobiten ermöglichten, sich bei Gefahr zusammenzurollen. Die zumeist spitz zulaufenden Fortsätze des Kopfschildes werden, insoweit vorhanden, als Wangenstachel bezeichnet. Insofern ein Trilobit, wie in dieser schematischen Darstellung gezeigt, über ausgeprägte Fortsätze der Pleuren verfügt, so werden diese Pleuralstachel genannt.

Namensgebung: Die Bezeichnung "Trilobitae" (später abgewandelt zu "Trilobita") wurde 1771 von dem deutschen Professor Johann Ernst Immanuel Walch (* 29. August 1725 in Jena; † 1. Dezember 1778 in Jena; deutscher Theologe und Geologe) erstmals eingeführt, doch erst am Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts setzte sich dieser Begriff in der Paläontologie allgemein durch (WALCH, J.E.I. 1771. Die Naturgeschichte der Versteinerungen zur Erläuterung der Knorrischen Sammlung von Merkwürdigkeiten der Natur. Nürnberg). Der Schwede G. Wahlenberg schlug 1821 den Namen "Entomostracites" als Klassenbezeichnung vor, sein Landsmann J. W. Dalman bevorzugte noch fünf Jahre später die Bezeichnung "Palaeades", aber Walchs Begriff, der sich auf die auffällige axiale Einteilung der Tiere bezog, wurde dennoch Teil der gültigen Nomenklatur.

Nähere und detailreichere Beschreibungen des Trilobitenpanzers finden Sie auf der Unterseite Morphologie.

All line drawings on this page ©1999, 2000 by S. M. Gon III

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Samstag, 30.01.2010 16:35

Zurück zum Seitenanfang