Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Ontogenesis

Growth stages in trilobites

From the very beginnings of trilobite research, wary collectors used to come across clusters of fossilized remains which obviously did not consist of different taxa but actually seemed to represent distinct growth stages of the very same trilobite species. In his great 1852 work, Systême Silurien du centre de la Bohême, BARRANDE described these growth stages, using the trilobite Sao hirsuta BARRANDE, 1846 as an example.



Meraspis of Sao hirsuta There is hardly a doubt that trilobites have to be regarded as oviparous arthropods. Due to the limited knowledge we can gain from fossils alone, we do not know exactly how they cared for their eggs, i.e. whether they deposited them in a protected area or perhaps attached them to plants, corals, sponges or rocks. They may even have carried them along until they had reached a certain degree of development. The latter idea received some support through the excavation of some unusual fossils:

On rare occasions, a strange ‘bubble’ on the preglabellar field had been witnessed in some trilobite species. Professional workers like FORTEY attributed these uncommon morphological peculiarities to their functioning as “brood pouches” (FORTEY & HUGHES, 1998). FORTEY emphasized that the recent Limulus or horseshoe crab, generally regarded as the closest living relative of trilobites, conducts this kind of care for its offspring and he did not fail to tell of the culinary aspects of this strange sort of ‘caviar’ in his book Trilobite! – Eywitness to Evolution. <g>

Unfortunately, finds of trilobites showing this bubble are very scarce and much more material would have to be examined to verify or rebut this theory. Apart from the explanation as being a brood pouch, other functions may have to be considered and even pathological mutations cannot be entirely ruled out. Even if we accept the theory as a fact, we have to ask for how long the trilobite kept his eggs in its pouch and when it finally released them into the open water of the seas.

Ontogenesis 1

Protaspid (A) and Meraspids (B-D) of Shumardia pusilla (SARS) from the Lower Ordovician of England (Source: Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Arthropoda 1, Trilobitomorpha, University of Kansas Press, 1959). Protaspid shown in 50x magnification, already showing a distinct rhachis.


Much more is known on the development of the trilobite itself, once it hatched from its egg. Today we distinguish between three stages, described as the protaspid, meraspid and holaspid stage respectively. The protaspid stage (see first plate, fig. A) denotes the earliest stage of development. In this condition the trilobite larvae shows a size between 0,25 and 1 mm and has already developed an early rhachis. The larvae itself is usually of a more or less ball-like shape, sometimes with little protrusions. There are no thoracic segments evident, but the carapace must have been a mineralized one already, as otherwise there would have been no fossilized remains. Protaspid trilobites differ in their morphological diversity as much from species to species as the adult animals do. They were spiny or non-spiny and their shell smooth or blotched with little knots.

Ontogenesis 2
Meraspids (E-G) of Shumardia pusilla (S ARS ) from the Lower Ordovician of England (Source: Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Arthropoda 1, Trilobitomorpha, University of Kansas Press, 1959). It is evident that the animal developed new thoracic segments by separating them from the tail shield, rather than from the cephalon as could be expected.

The meraspid stage of a trilobite is characterized by the development of articulated thoracic segments. However, the animal has not yet reached the number regarded as typical for an adult animal of a particular species. Going through regular intervals of molting, the animal continued to add further segments by separating them from the tail shield, rather than from the direction of its head as could be expected. Growth therefore primarily took place in the hind area of the animal. Apart from the adding of new segments other body parts continued in their development.
Ontogenesis 3

Holaspids (E-G) of Shumardia pusilla (S ARS ) from the Lower Ordovician of England (Source: Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Arthropoda 1, Trilobitomorpha, University of Kansas Press, 1959). The gerontic specimen on the right has developed an additional pygidial segment, exceeding the typical number for this species.


brood Reaching the holaspid stage, the trilobite had developed as many thoracic segments as being regarded typical for a particular species. It was now an adult. This does not mean, however, that it necessarily stopped growing. The fossil record gives evidence that some animals developed more than the typical number of segments as can be seen in fig. "I", plate 3.

There are strong indications that trilobites continued to grow in size throughout their entire lifetime. So-called gerontic (old) specimens could reach enormous growth ( Paradoxides, Isotelus , etc.). Naturally, every trilobite sooner or later fell victim to environmental hazards, natural enemies or diseases. Nor must it be forgotten that trilobites being arthropods could not cross the final boundary that limited the size that invertebrates could reach.

Unlike vertebrates, in which the soft tissues and organs are attached to a rigid inner skeleton, allowing the animal to reach enormous sizes (just have a look at dinosaurs or whales) the sheer weight of an invertebrate’s soft tissue encapuslated in its carapace would sooner or later place an end to its growth. A simple analogy: An orange tree can carry a huge amount of fruit at its branches, all of it deliciously palatable. However, if you stacked all these individual oranges on top of each other within a confined space you sooner or later would end up with an undefinable lump as the weight of the fruit on top squashes the one at the bottom. But that is exactly how an arthropod body is constructed – a lot of rather soft biological mass inside a confined space, namely the carapace. The largest arthropods on record are the extinct eurypterids or sea scorpions (Ordovician – Permian) which could reach a length of about 2 m. The buck stops there!

It should also be noted that trilobites could go through distinct metamorphic changes throughtout their growth. Not all species grew in such a homogenous way like our exemplary Shumardia pusilla. Genal spines, macropleurae and other details were developed and lost in consecutive stages. Small - young - specimens of Paradoxides, for example, can show a macropleural third segment which is no longer present in fossilized adults.

Recommend our web site!

Last Update : 01/30/2010 5:06 PM

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Ontogenese

Wie Trilobiten wuchsen

Seit man die Überreste von Trilobiten erstmals entdeckte, ist man bisweilen auch auf Funde gestoßen, bei denen es sich offensichtlich um Ansammlungen verschiedener Wachstumsstadien der selben Art handelte. BARRANDE zeigte bereits in seinem großen Werk von 1852, Systême Silurien du centre de la Bohême, die verschiedenen Wachstumsstadien am Beispiel des Trilobiten Sao hirsuta BARRANDE, 1846.


Meraspis von Sao hirsutaTrilobiten waren unzweifelhaft eierlegende Gliederfüßer. Wir wissen nicht mit Sicherheit, wie sie ihre Eier "behandelten", ob sie sie analog zu rezenten Organismen irgendwo ablegten oder an Pflanzen, Korallen, Schwämmen oder Gestein befestigten. Eventuell trugen sie ihre Eier auch stets bei sich, bis sie einen gewissen Entwicklungsgrad erreicht hatten.

Bei einigen Trilobitenarten fand man selten auftretende Exemplare mit auffälligen Auftreibungen auf dem Präglabellarfeld, die von Trilobitenforschern wie FORTEY als "Bruttaschen" gedeutet wurden (FORTEY & HUGHES, 1998). Er verwies darauf, daß der rezente Pfeilschwanzkrebs, der als nähester, lebender Verwandter der Trilobiten angesehen wird, eine solche Brutpflege betreibt (und beschrieb in seinem Buch Trilobiten! auch die kulinarischen Aspekte dieses Arthropoden <g>).

Allerdings sind diese Fossilien sehr selten, und es bedarf wohl umfangreicheren Materials um diese Theorie zu verifizieren oder zu widerlegen. Neben der Erklärung als Bruttaschen kommen sicherlich auch andere Möglichkeiten in Betracht bis hin zu pathologischen Aspekten. Auch wenn man die Bruttasche als gegeben hinnimmt, stellt sich die Frage, wie lange der Trilobit seine Eier mit sich herumschleppte und wann er die Trilobitenlarven ins Meer entließ ...

Ontogenese 1
Protaspis (A) und Meraspiden (B-D) von Shumardia pusilla (SARS) aus dem Unteren Ordovizium von England (Quelle: Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Arthropoda 1, Trilobitomorpha, University of Kansas Press, 1959). Der Protaspis ist ca. 50x vergrößert abgebildet und zeigt bereits deutlich eine Ausprägung der Spindel.

Das Wachstum der Trilobiten selbst ist hingegen gut belegt. Es wird in drei Stadien eingeteilt, die man als Protaspis, Meraspis und Holaspis bezeichnet. Das protaspide Stadium (siehe erste Tafel, Abbildung "A") stellt die früheste Entwicklungsstufe dar. In diesem Zustand sind die Trilobitenlarven zwischen 0,25 und 1 mm groß und zeigen bereits zumindest teilweise Ansätze eines Spindel. Die Larve an sich hat generell eine eher rundliche Form. Es sind noch keinerlei artikulierte Thoraxsegmente vorhanden. Das Schild war aber bereits mineralisiert, denn nur so konnten sich diese Formen fossil erhalten. Protaspiden verschiedener Trilobitenarten zeigen die gleiche morphologische Vielfalt wie die erwachsenen Tiere. Es gab Protaspiden bie bestachelt waren, solche ohne Stachel, mit eher glatter oder stark skulpturierter Oberfläche, usw.
Ontogenese 2
Meraspiden (E-G) von Shumardia pusilla (SARS) aus dem Unteren Ordovizium von England (Quelle: Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Arthropoda 1, Trilobitomorpha, University of Kansas Press, 1959). Deutlich ist zu erkennen, daß der Trilobit neue Thoraxsegmente aus Richtung des Pygidiums "nachschiebt".

Im meraspiden Stadium hat der Trilobit bereits artikulierte Thoraxsegmente entwickelt, jedoch noch nicht die für die Art typische Anzahl. Der Trilobit, der ja durch regelmäßige Häutungen wächst, beginnt damit, weitere Thoraxsegmente auszubilden, wobei die Ausbildung aus Richtung des Pygidiums ausgeht, nicht, wie man vielleicht annehmen möchte, aus Richtung des Kopfschildes. Das Wachstum findet also hauptsächlich im hinteren Bereich des Tieres statt. Neben der Ausbildung von Segmenten kann sich auch die Form anderer Körperteile weiterentwickeln.
Ontogenese 3
Holaspiden (H-I) von Shumardia pusilla (SARS) aus dem Unteren Ordovizium von England (Quelle: Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Arthropoda 1, Trilobitomorpha, University of Kansas Press, 1959). Das gerontische Exemplar rechts hat ein zusätzliches Pygidialsegment entwickelt, die Anzahl liegt also über der arttypischen Zahl.

BruttascheIm holaspiden Stadium hatte der Trilobit seine arttypische Anzahl von Thoraxsegmenten entwickelt, er war gewissermaßen "erwachsen". Das bedeutet aber aber keineswegs, daß das Tier damit automatisch ausgewachsen war. Es kam sogar vor, daß Trilobiten mehr Segmente entwickelten, als es nach allgemeiner Ansicht für diese Art typisch gewesen wäre (siehe Tafel 3, Abbildung "I").

Tatsächlich gibt es Hinweise darauf, daß Trilobiten ihr gesamtes Leben lang weiterwuchsen. Sogenannte "gerontische" (alte) Exemplare konnten enorme Ausmaße erreichen (Paradoxides, Isotelus, etc.). Natürlich war dem Wachstum irgendwann ein Ende gesetzt, sei es durch die Einwirkungen von Umwelt oder Freßfeinden oder durch Krankheiten. Und letztlich begrenzt schon die Tatsache, daß wir es mit Wirbellosen zu tun haben, die maximal erreichbare Größe.

Im Gegensatz zu den Wirbeltieren, bei denen die Weichteile gewissermaßen an den Knochen angehängt sind, und die daher entsprechend große Ausmaße annehmen konnten (z. B. Dinosaurier oder Wale) würde bei Wirbellosen allein das Eigengewicht der Weichteile ab einer bestimmten Größe dem Ganzen ein Ende setzen. Zur Vereinfachung: Hinge man eine große Anzahl Orangen an die Äste eines Baumes, so blieben sie alle wohl recht knackig und appetitlich. Schüttete man diese ganzen Orangen aber übereinander in einen begrenzten Raum, so würde von den unteren Lagen nicht viel mehr als eine undefinierbare Masse übrigbleiben, weil das Gewicht der oben liegenden Früchte die unten liegenden zerquetschen würde. Genau das aber ist der Aufbau vieler Arthropoden: Weichteile innerhalb eines Panzers.

Es bleibt noch zu erwähnen, daß Trilobiten während ihres Wachstums deutliche Metamorphosen durchmachten, also gestaltliche Veränderungen, die keineswegs so homogen erfolgten wie in unserem Beipiel von Shumardia pusilla. Dazu zählen Wangenstachel, Makropleuren, etc., die zu gewissen Zeitpunkten innerhalb der Entwicklung vorhanden und bei späten Holaspiden wieder verschwunden sind.

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Samstag, 30.01.2010 16:38