Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Pathological carapaces

Deformities in the Palaeozoic

Every now and then collectors may come across a trilobite which seems to be „different“, not so much in size or rare occurance but rather in its morphological shape which seems to diverge from the regular pattern within a defined group. Something is “wrong” about the specimen and upon closer inspection it may turn out to be missing a pleural segment, perhaps show an atrophied tail shield or an unusually shortened genal spine. Not always is the anomaly as obvious as in cases where the carapace is missing entire sections due to the attack by a predator. Its the more or less subtle distinctions we care about on this subpage.

The following images were supplied by Dieter Holland, who also gave the idea to address this subject in more detail. All images copyright by Dieter Holland


PlatyscutellumObvious misdevelopment in the morphology of the trilobite Platyscutellum from the Devonian of Morocco. This genus regularly shows ten thoracic segments which should run into long pleural spines as is evident on he unaffected right side of this carapace. On the left side, however, the tenth pleural segment not only appears unusually short but is also fused with the tail shield or pygidium. In addition, the ninth pleural segment is distinctly shortened as are segments three to eight, if somewhat less. It has to be said, though, that the latter observation may be attributed to other reasons as they appear sort of “broken off”. This is more evident in the picture’s original size.

Scutellum The tail shield or pygidium of the Styginidae (Scutelluidae) seems to be frequently affected by pathological developments, while at the same time often give evidence of attacks by predators. Specimens belonging to this family with such notable anomalies are frequently found. Our example of Scutellum shows a distinct loss of shell substance to the right pygidial border which appears unusually smooth. The effacement of the pygidial ribs in the direction of the pygidial border, which can be seen more easily in the large version of this image, seem to indicate a pathological development rather than being the result of a healing process after an attack by a predator. Also, there are no bite marks evident as can sometimes be found in such trilobites.

Thysanopeltis This Thysanopeltis from the Devonian of Morocco has been hit hard by a „failure of nature“. The right side of its pygidial shield is clearly pathological, with a surplus of free pleural segments fused together at their ends. The whole tail shield appears to be completely out of its designated shape. It would seem unlikely that the anomalies in this carapace can be attributed to the impacts of a predator attack as they appear to have been due to a morphological misdevelopment. Nevertheless, the trilobite seems to have been able to live with his handicap as extremities, like in most other animals, are usually not vital to the animal’s survival.

Coltraneia A deformed axis or rhachis in an otherwise very nice specimen of Coltraneia from the Devonian of Morocco (very prominent and nicely preserved compound eyes). The peculiarities in this specimen are not as obvious as in the other carapaces shown on this page. Upon closer inspection you will find that some of the axial rings are distinctly more narrow than usual, in particular rings 5, 6, 9 and 10. This observation can be extended to the tail shield. Whether this is actually due to pathological developments or perhaps just to a reduction of substance in the course of diagenesis is not safe to say, but the overall state of preservation in this trilobite clearly speaks in favour of the first option. .

Diademaproetus Unevenly developed genal spines do not appear to be as rare as might be suggested by the lack of such specimens on the market. This Diademaproetus from the Devonian of Morocco is just one example of many more that might have been sorted out during preparation and never made it to the desk of your local fossil dealer. The large version of this image clearly shows that the left genal spine appears to have failed to develop the regular length rather than being broken off at some time. We may speculate, though, that it may have been broken off at some earlier stage of the trilobite’s development and that succeeding moulting cycles played a part in recreating the original shape, even if the normal length could not be reached.

Leymeriella Naturally, morphological anomalies are not restricted to the class trilobita. Ammonites is another group in which such irregularities can be observed quite frequently. As an example, we would like to present a specimen of the ammonite Leymeriella from the Lower Cretaceous of Vöhrum, Northern Germany. Obviously, this cephalopod suffered a severe injury to its planispiral shell which the animal tried to compensate by continuously building new segments to its housing. A pathological development can be ruled out as there is a clear tearing edge visible that can be attributed to a predator..
Should you own a fossil or fossils with similar anomalies and would like to present it on our website, please feel free to email us with an image of your specimen

Last Update : 01/30/2010 5:07 PM

Back to the top

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
pathologische Trilobiten

Fehlbildungen im Paläozoikum

Hin und wieder trifft ein Sammler auf ein Fundstück, das seine Aufmerksamkeit erregt, nicht weil es besonders groß oder klein, besonders rar oder häufig ist, sondern weil es in seiner Form vom bekannten Muster abweicht. Irgendetwas stimmt nicht und bei genauerer Betrachtung stellt sich vielleicht heraus, daß dem Trilobiten eine Pleure fehlt, das Schwanzschild verkümmert ist oder der linke Wangenstachel weitaus kürzer ist als der rechte. Oder aber der Trilobitenpanzer zeugt durch große Fehlstellen vom Angriff eines Freßfeindes. Beispiele zumeist pathologischer Veränderungen sind das Thema dieser Unterseite.

Das nachfolgende Bildmaterial wurde mir freundlicherweise von Dieter Holland überlassen, der auch die Anregung zu dieser Darstellung gab. Alle Bildrechte liegen bei ihm.


PlatyscutellumEindeutige Fehlentwicklungen im Aufbau des Trilobitenpanzers zeigt dieser Platyscutellum aus dem Devon von Marokko. Der Trilobit besitzt 10 Thoraxsegmente, die auf der rechten Seite korrekt in lange Pleuren auslaufen. Die linke Seite aber zeigt eine Verkürzung und Verschmelzung der 10. Pleure mit dem Schwanzschild, sowie eine deutliche Verkürzung der 9. Pleure und Verkürzungen der Pleuren 3 bis 8, letztere könnten allerdings auch durch andere Ursachen entstanden sein, da die Pleurenenden doch recht "abgebrochen" aussehen, was in der Großaufnahme noch besser zu erkennen ist.

ScutellumDer Schwanzschild der Styginidae (Scutelluidae) scheint übrigens sehr häufig von pathologischen Veränderungen oder Zeugnissen von Beutejägern betroffen zu sein, jedenfalls findet man öfters Trilobiten dieser Familie mit entsprechenden Auffälligkeiten. Das vorliegende Exemplar eines Scutellum zeigt deutliche Fehlstellen am rechten Pygidiumrand, die Ränder sind auffällig glatt und die in der Großaufnahme deutlich erkennbare Verflachung der Pygidialrippen in Richtung der Fehlstelle scheint eher für eine pathologische Veränderung zu sprechen als für eine Wundverheilung nach dem Angriff eines Freßfeindes. Es fehlen auch "Freßmarken" eines wie auch immer gestalteten Mundapparates.

ThysanopeltisZiemlich böse erwischt hat die Natur auch diesen Thysanopeltis aus dem Devon von Marokko. Das Pygidium ist auf der rechten Seite deutlich pathologisch, überzählige freie, an den Enden aber wieder verwachsene Pleuren sind evident und das ganze Schwanzschild ist doch ziemlich aus der Form geraten. Einwirkungen eines Freßfeindes sind auch in diesem Falle wohl eher unwahrscheinlich, da die Veränderungen deutlich entwicklungsbedingt sind. Der Trilobit scheint mit seiner Behinderung aber durchaus lebensfähig geblieben zu sein, da, wie bei anderen Tieren auch, die Extremitäten selten existentiell bedeutsam sind.

ColtraneiaEine deformierte Spindel oder Rhachis bei einer ansonsten sehr schönen Coltraneia aus Marokko (mit hervorragend erhaltenen, sehr prominenten Augen) die auf den ersten Blick nicht so einfach zu erkennen ist. Die Spindelringe sind teilweise geschmälert, man beachte insbesondere die Segmente 5, 6, 9 und 10. Zusätzlich ist das Pygidium von ähnlichen Symptomen betroffen. Inwieweit es sich hierbei tatsächlich um eine pathologische Veränderung der Morphologie handelt oder womöglich um eine Reduktion der Schalenmasse während der Diagenese, etc., sei einmal dahingestellt, ist aber in Anbetracht des allgemeinen Erhaltungszustandes wenig wahrscheinlich.

DiademaproetusUngleich ausgebildete Wangenstacheln findet man hin und wieder bei entsprechend ausgestatteten Trilobiten, im vorliegenden Falle bei einem Diademaproetus aus dem Devon von Marokko. In der Großaufnahme kann man deutlich erkennen, daß der linke Wangenstachel nicht abgebrochen, sondern regulär, aber verkürzt abschließt. Inwieweit eine eventuelle Verletzung aus einem früheren Stadium der Trilobitenentwicklung durch die nachfolgenden Häutungen in der Art ausgeglichen werden konnte, daß der neue Panzer sich der veränderten Morphologie anpaßte, bleibt Spekulation.

LeymeriellaMorphologische Veränderungen sind natürlich nicht nur auf Trilobiten beschränkt. Gerade bei Ammoniten sind auffällige Exemplare gar nicht mal so selten anzutreffen. Im vorliegenden Fall bei einer Leymeriella aus dem Oberen Apt, Obere Unterkreide von Vöhrum, die wir hier nur als kurzes Beispiel anführen wollen. Deutlich ist zu sehen, daß der Kopffüßer eine nicht unerhebliche Verletzung davongetragen haben muß, die er anschließend durch den allmählichen Anbau neuer Segmente auszugleichen hatte, was ihm auch weitestgehend gelungen ist. Eine krankhafte Veränderung liegt hier im Gegensatz zu den obigen Trilobiten wohl nicht vor. Man beachte die deutlich erkennbare "Abrißkante".

Wenn auch Sie im Besitz eines pathologischen Trilobiten sind und ihn gerne in diese Galerie aufgenommen sähen, eine kurze Email mit Bild genügt.

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Samstag, 30.01.2010 16:39