Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Preparation

When trilobites see the light of day

Onnia sp. Whenever a layman looks at a nicely done preparation he usually can't help but wonder how it was possible to extract a trilobite from the surrounding rock without inflicting any major damage on the fossil itself. For it is not any sort of dried-up cheese that our beloved bugs are stuck in but usually solid and dense sedimentary rock of varying strength. To make things worse, the most common practice to find trilobites is to chop them into pieces to begin with by cracking chunks of rock known to be fossiliferous.


With some luck, you split the fossil cleanly lengthwise or merely break off the head or tail shield and all you need to do is put both pieces back together, now that you know what's inside. It may also occur that your chunk cracks right at the carapace, leaving disintegrated parts of it stuck in both positive and negative while sending some others onto a flight path to Neverland. In the worst case you simply smash the darn thing to rubble and have to say bye-bye to what used to be a fantastic specimen before you applied excessive force to it.

1.Ampyx 12.Ampyx 23.Ampyx 3
Left to right: 1. Exposing the first of several trilobites on a multiple plate (Ampyx priscus). 2. Preparation of the second specimen at the far right of the matrix. 3. The finished preparation with grinded surface. (larger images)

No matter how skilfully you command your tools and regardless of how much patience you bring to the job – to be a good preparator, you need more than these virtues, you need comprehensive and profound knowledge of the different trilobite morphologies. The techniques used to extract fossils without destroying or damaging them are manifold. Apart from an entirely manual preparation by means of scalpel, stylus and steel needle, in which the rock is removed from the underlying fossil bit by bit by applying adequate pressure by hand, electrically powered tools like grinders and air-pressured chisels are used to work larger areas with good results within an acceptable period of time. Blasters have become more and more popular as they allow for the extraction of even the most fragile and delicate details of a trilobite's carapace, provided the preparator has found just the perfect abrasive – not too hard, not too soft, just right to do the work without attacking the fossil itself. Masters in their fields manage to produce results unimaginable just decades ago.


1.Xiphogonium12.Xiphogonium 23.Xiphogonium 34.Xiphogonium 4
Left to right: 1. Xiphogonium at an early phase of preparation. 2. Work on the positive reveals missing parts of the carapace. 3. Existing parts have been transferred from the negative to the positive. 4. Removal of matrix from the axis. (larger images)


As already indicated, the selection of the right abrasive is crucial to the success of preparation when using a blaster. It must be aggressive enough to remove the matrix but inferior to the strength of the calcified trilobite shell. Not an easy task, but inevitable to avoid irreversible damage to the surface of the carapace. Especially with those frequently offered Russian asaphids bad examples are abundant for it is hard to find a specimen still showing terrace lines – a feature important enough to be used in taxonomic classification. Such trilobites with surfaces as smooth as an infant's behind may be suitable for the mass market but they are all but worthless to any scientific approach. Blasting, when improperly conducted, may turn up with the same awkward results as a bad manual preparation, when the frequently misguided tip of a needle turns even the most resilient of shells into a lunar landscape. Not to mention the notable costs for a good blaster.

1.Stichel 1 2.Stichel 23.Stichel 3
Left to right: 1. Unsuitable needle as frequently offered for sale at fossil shows. 2. Home-made tool, grip built from car parts, with flat chisel. 3. Another home-made chisel with normal, pointed steel needle. (larger images)

Successful manual preparation using steel needles requires certain preconditions to be met. One is that the rock and carapace have been tested to separate easily. Another requisite is that the trilobite's morphology does not require the preparation of too many free-standing spines or other protrusions. As a matter of fact, needle preparation should only be regarded as fine-tuning since other tools need to be applied first to do the rough jobs that precede the meticulous extraction of finer detail. Needle preparation is done using a stereoscope with adequate illumination. Needless to say that the wrong needle will render all other precautions useless.

Präparations-Werkstatt Illus 1: Cheap and pretty much useless chisel as frequently offered for sale at fossil shows, the grip being simply too thin to apply adequate force to the matrix with proper guidance to the tip. Preparing the trilobite with such a tool is a safe bet on an unsatisfying result.

Illus 2: Comparably short chisel, home-made by Dieter Holland, constructed from parts used in circuit tester for cars, bearing a flat chisel as a head. Force is applied by the palm of the hand while the fingers' only job is to properly guide the tool. Allows for hours of stress-free working. Steel needles of two different sizes and shapes are being used: The regular pointed steel needle (illus. 3) for the fossil itself plus the flat chisel (illus. 2) to work the matrix around the trilobite. Every once in a while it should be tested which is the more appropriate one as the character of the matrix may change. Unfortunately the durability of these needles is limited and they have to be sharpened frequently.


1.Destombesina 12.Destombesina 23.Destombesina 3
Left to right: 1. Destombesina in unprepared condition as found. 2. Working towards the head shield, grinding off large amounts of matrix in the process. 3. The almost finished specimen. (larger images)

Mere collectors with no ambitions in doing preparations on their own do rarely get a chance to get an insight into the preparator workhop and the processes involved. Usually, they only get to see the finished trilobites. We therefore would like to show a few examples of fossils at different stages of preparation plus the final results. It may help to at least get an inkling of the time-consuming efforts which go into a good preparation and put prices back into perspective. It may also serve to convince any disbelievers who doubt that anything with an age of several hundreds of millions of years can look as neat and fresh as some fossils do, that there is no reason to doubt the authenticity of such a preparation in general. They may sometimes look too good to be true, yet be true still – and carry a corresponding price tag! ;-)

Addendum: In view of the ongoing discussions between preparators and collectors about the legitimacy of certain manipulations to a fossil (isn't preparation by defintion a manipulation to begin with?) Udo Resch, a preparator of trilobites and others fossils in his own right, came up with the idea of assigning different seals of quality to any fossil for sale in order to let the degree of authenticity be known to any unwary buyer. Since we were not talking about outright fakes here, I decided to act on his proposal and put it up for discussion on this page. Originally Udo Resch posted to our bulletin board on two occasions suggesting what he believed to be an adequate gradation to reflect the different qualities. Klaus Bartl undertook to fine-tune Udo's idea until we ended up with a sort of traffic light-like colour coding system which might be used as a seal of quality by preparators in the future:


Grade
Description
natural

fossil which has undergone but preserving procedures, like reinforcing an all too thin matrix, with no restorations, additives or sealers, original, natural rock

enhanced

fossil which has seen some sort of surface finishing, e. g. darkening, light colouring or bleaching of an otherwise low-contrast specimen

restored

small-scale restorations like casting missing parts of the exoskeleton from corresponding moulds that originally housed the missing piece or pieces

reassembled

anatomically correct rearticulation of slightly disarticulated specimens, accompanied by documentary proof, pictures included, of the original condition and the steps taken

reconstructed

fossil in which missing parts have been reconstructed at the discretion of the preparator without access to a corresponding mould (the so-called "Ceratarges-problem": it usually misses at least one free cheek). Reconstructed parts may be coloured to fit the authentic parts of the fossil

designed

obscuration of the true state of preservation of a fossil by applying opaque coverings as very often can be found in cheap Moroccan preparations. May also include non-authentic reconstructions of missing parts

composed

composition of a fossil by using the disarticulated parts of at least two different individuals or an artificial arrangement of fossils which originally were not found together (e. g. „trilobite pizzas“)

cast

the name says it all: latex and other types of casts taken from the original fossil are quite frequently used to replace a collector's holotype, etc., which is then given to a museum. A cast is no problem unless it gets traded as being the original and therefore with the intend to cheat and deceive.

Surely, it would be of tremendous benefit not only to the collectors community but to the reputation of the fossil trade itself if fossil traders and preparators alike could be convinced to adhere to a gentleman's agreement to use the above classification when offering their fossils for sale. I appreciate the contributions of Udo Resch and Klaus Bartl to this subpage and the set-up of the classification chart.

Recommend our web site!

Last Update : 06/30/2010 7:45 PM

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Präparation

Trilobiten kommen ans Licht ...

Onnia sp.Wenn man sich gute, saubere Präparate anschaut, fragt man sich unwillkürlich, wie es möglich ist, Fossilien in dieser Art und Weise freizulegen, ohne dabei größere Schäden anzurichten. Schließlich stecken die Überreste unserer paläozoischen Freunde ja nicht in einem Stück vertrocknetem Käse, sondern in bisweilen sehr hartem Sedimentgestein. Und finden tut man Trilobiten ja meistens dadurch, daß man sie erst einmal kaputt macht, während man das Gestein aufschlägt.

Entweder hat man das Fossil in irgendeiner Form der Länge oder Breite nach gespalten, oder man hat das manchmal zweifelhafte Glück, daß sich das geschwächte Gestein direkt über dem Fossil teilt. Teilweise ist der Trilobitenpanzer dann nämlich nicht vollständig in einem Stück erhalten sondern bruchstückhaft über Positiv und Negativ verteilt, so daß man das aufgeschlagene Gestein aufwendig wieder zusammensetzen (kleben) muß, um sich dann von geeigneter Seite vorsichtig vorzuarbeiten.

1.Ampyx 12.Ampyx 23.Ampyx 3
Von links: 1. Freilegung des ersten Trilobiten auf einer Multiplatte (Ampyx priscus); 2. Präparation des zweiten Exemplars am rechten Rand der Matrix; 3. Endprodukt mit bearbeiteter Oberfläche.
(Größere Bilder)

Um eine solche Arbeit erfolgreich durchführen zu können, bedarf es nicht nur einer ausgesprochenen, handwerklichen Geschicklichkeit und Geduld, sondern auch umfangreicher Kenntnisse der Morphologie der Trilobiten. Die Techniken, diese fossilen Hinterlassenschaften so zerstörungsfrei wie möglich freizulegen, sind vielfältig. Neben der gänzlich manuellen Präparation mit Skalpellen, Sticheln und Stahlnadeln, bei der die Matrix in Feinarbeit Stück für Stück durch entsprechenden Druck weggesprengt wird, werden zur großflächigen Vorbehandlung Fräsen und Druckluftmeissel eingesetzt, die die Arbeit bereits um einiges erleichtern. Zunehmender Beliebtheit erfreut sich allerdings auch die Strahltechnik. Dies insbesondere, weil bei Auswahl des richtigen Strahlmittels (eine Kunst für sich) auch sehr feine und grazile Teile eines Trilobitenpanzers sauber herauspräpariert werden können, die bei manueller Bearbeitung des Gesteins kaum eine Chance hätten die Prozedur unbeschadet zu überstehen.

1.Xiphogonium12.Xiphogonium 23.Xiphogonium 34.Xiphogonium 4
Von links: 1. Xiphogonium im Anfangsstadium der Präparation; 2. Fortgeschrittene Präparation mit Fehlstellen in der Schale; 3. Die fehlende Schale wurde aus dem Negativ auf das Positiv aufgearbeitet; 4. Die Matrix auf der bestachelten Rhachis wurde entfernt.
(Größere Bilder)

Wie bereits angedeutet, erfordert dies jedoch eine ideale Abstimmung zwischen der Härte des fossilierten Panzers, des Gesteins und der Aggressivität des Strahlmittels, da man ansonsten riskiert, die Oberfläche des Trilobitenpanzers über Gebühr zu beeinträchtigen. Gute Beispiele für solche Fehler sind die häufig und günstig angebotenen Asaphiden aus Russland, deren Panzer zumeist kaum noch etwas von den ursprünglich deutlich sichtbaren Terassenlinien aufweisen. Das mag für den Massenverkauf gerade noch angehen, für mehr wissenschaftliche Zwecke sind solche glattgestrahlten Exemplare jedoch wertlos. Das Strahlen ist daher letztlich eine ebenso heikle Angelegenheit wie das Präparieren mit der Nadel, denn auch das hat seine Tücken und Nebenwirkungen (z. B. die sich meist weißlich darstellenden "Nadeltreffer" auf dem Trilobitenpanzer). Hinzu kommt, daß eine gute Strahlausrüstung nicht billig ist.

1.Stichel 1 2.Stichel 23.Stichel 3
Von links: 1. Unbrauchbarer Stichel, wie er zuweilen auf Börsen angeboten wird; 2. Eigenbau: Stichel, aus PKW-Stromprüfern hergestellt, mit flächig angeschliffener Nadel; 3. Weiterer Stichel Marke Eigenbau mit regulärer Nadelspitze. (Größere Bilder)

Bei der Nadelpräparation ist entscheidend, daß sich das Sediment vom Panzer löst und der Trilobit nicht allzuviele Stacheln aufweist, die in den freien Raum hineinragen. Außerdem handelt es sich bei dieser Art der Präparation um Feinarbeit. Die groben, vorbereitenden Arbeiten mit einem Druckluftmeissel müssen vorweglaufen. Gearbeitet wird unter einem Stereoskop mit entsprechend guter Beleuchtung. Auch die Auswahl des richtigen Stichels ist wichtig:

Präparations-Werkstatt Bild 1: Billiger, beinahe unbrauchbarer Stichel, wie er zuweilen auf Börsen angeboten wird. Mit zwei Fingern Arbeitsdruck zu erzeugen und gleichzeitig die Spitze gezielt zu führen ohne das Fossil zu verletzen, erweist sich oft als unmöglich.

Bild 2: Relativ kurzer Stichel Marke Eigenbau, von Dieter Holland aus PKW-Stromprüfern entwickelt. Ein handliches Gerät; mit den Fingern wird die Spitze nur geführt und der Arbeitsdruck mit der Maus erzeugt. Stundenlanges, ermüdungsfreies Arbeiten ist möglich.

Als Stahlspitzen werden zwei unterschiedlich starke Stahlnadeln (Tapezierleisten-Nadeln bzw. Panelen-Stahlnägel ohne Kopf) verwendet. Die Nadeln sind auf zwei unterschiedliche Weisen angeschliffen: Als normale Spitze (Bild 3), zum anderen wird vorn eine Fläche geschliffen (Bild 2). Mit der flächig geschliffenen Nadel lässt sich die Matrix um den Trilobiten herum gut bearbeiten. Ansonsten muß man immer wieder testen, welcher Nadeltyp sich momentan besser zum Abtragen des Sediments eignet. Die Standzeiten der Nadeln sind meist nicht allzu hoch; sie müssen ständig nachgeschliffen werden.

1.Destombesina 12.Destombesina 23.Destombesina 3
Von links: 1. Destombesina im Fundzustand; 2. Vorarbeitung in Richtung Cephalon unter großflächiger Entfernung von Matrix mittels Druckluftmeissel; 3. Kurz vor Abschluß der Präparation.
(Größere Bilder)

Da man, insofern man nicht selbst präpariert oder Einblick in eine entsprechende Werkstatt hat, zumeist nur die fertigen Präparate zu Gesicht bekommt, zeigen wir auf dieser Seite ein paar Stücke in verschiedenen Stadien der Präparation sowie das "Endprodukt". Dies mag zum einen dazu dienen, den Arbeitsaufwand einer guten Präparation ins rechte Licht zu rücken (und damit auch die Angemessenheit der Preise), andererseits aber auch dazu, jenen eine Vorstellung zu geben, die einfach nicht glauben können, daß nach vielen hundert Millionen Jahren etwas so "frisch" wirken kann, daß man als Unwissender unwillkürlich Zweifel an der Authentizität solcher Präparate bekommt.

Nachtrag: Die Diskussionen zwischen Präparatoren und Sammlern über die Legitimität gewisser Manipulationen am Präparat (jede Präparation ist per definitionem auch Manipulation) gehen unvermindert weiter. In diesem Zusammenhang hat Udo Resch, der selbst auf hohem Niveau präpariert, den Vorschlag gemacht Präparate mit gewissen Gütesiegeln zu versehen die das Maß an Authentizität deutlich und für alle erkennbar belegen. Da wir hier nicht von Fälschungen im eigentlichen Sinne reden, habe ich mich entschlossen diesen Vorschlag auf dieser Unterseite aufzugreifen. Udo Resch hat in zwei Postings im Forum Abstufungen vorgeschlagen, Klaus Bartl hat diese noch weiter verfeinert und wir haben eine "Ampel" aufgestellt, die man in Zukunft unter Präparatoren als "Quality Label" nutzen könnte:

Stufe
Beschreibung
natural / naturbelassen
naturbelassene, lediglich konservatorischen Maßnahmen (z. B. Verstärkungen bei dünner Matrix ) unterzogene Funde ohne Zusatzstoffe oder Einlaßmittel, originaler Naturstein
enhanced / veredelt
eine reine Oberflächenveredelung, so z. B. Fluatieren oder leichtes Einfärben oder Bleichen bei kontrastarmen Stücken
restored / restauriert
Restaurierungen in geringem Umfang, beispielsweise das Abgießen von ursprünglich vorhanden gewesenen Schalenteilen
reassembled / reartikuliert
das korrekte Zusammenmontieren von leicht disartikulierten Trilobiten unter Dokumentation des eigentlichen Fundzustandes
reconstructed / rekonstruiert
Rekonstruktionen, das Hinzufügen von auch fossil nicht überliefert vorhandenen Teilen (z. B. das "Ceratarges-Problem": Eigentlich fehlt fast immer eine Wange). Wie genau fehlende Teile farblich angepaßt werden, ist immer dem Präparator überlassen.
designed / manipuliert
das verfremden von Fossilien durch verdeckende Übermalungen oder Beschichtungen (z.B. die berüchtigten "gepampten" marokkanischen Präparate
composed / montiert
das Zusammensetzen eines Präparats aus mehreren Individuen oder ein Arrangement von Fossilien, die ursprünglich nicht zusammen gehört haben
cast / abgegossen
hierbei handelt es sich um einen Abguss. Für die wissenschaftliche Arbeit werden bisweilen Latex-Abgüsse hergestellt. Ein Abguß an sich ist daher neutral zu werten. Nur wenn er nicht als solcher gehandelt wird, handelt es sich um eine Fälschung und somit um Betrug.

Sicherlich wäre es ein unglaublicher Fortschritt, wenn sich unter den Präparatoren ein derartiges "Gentlemen-Agreement" durchsetzen ließe, das nicht nur all denen zum Vorteil gereichen würde, die Fossilien präparieren, sondern auch allen Sammlern und dem Ruf des gesamten Fossilienhandels. Mein Dank an dieser Stelle an Udo Resch und Klaus Bartl für diesen konstruktiven Vorschlag.

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Freitag, 02.04.2010 12:51