Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Trilobite localities worldwide

Photographic journey through the Palaeozoic era

Unfortunately there are but few images available on the internet of the actual locations trilobites are found in, despite the fact that it must be very interesting for both enthusiasts and collectors alike to know the origin of their beloved trilobite specimens and to be able to see these locations, although one may not be able to go there. We therefore would like to show you some images taken by persons who went there on excursions. All images copyright by Trilobita.de or their legal owners respectively.


1. Marokko - Jbel Gara el Zguilma, near Foum Zguid

Famous for the first finds of trilobites of the genus Walliserops and the trilobite made famous by Richard Fortey, Erbenochile, with it's skyscraper-resembling towering eyes. The latter ones are being found in the lower and lowest geode layers mined so far.

Geographical Situation: Some 50 km south-east of the small city Foum Zguid in Southern Morroco.

Age: Devonian, Emsian, Timrhanrhart Formation

Zguilma 1
Zguilma 1
Zguilma 2
Zguilma 2
Zguilma 3
Zguilma 3

Stratigraphy: The main target of excavations are 2 irregular horizontally-oriented geode layers which are situated some 1.50 m apart from each other. The upper layer is directly exposed at the surface by an ever-shifting flooding plain, it is however often very weathered and broken in itself. The material in itself has a dirty yellow color and the exoskeletons of the trilobites found are dark brown. Between the beforementioned geode layers there is a soft marl layer that only rarely yields geodes. For the time being, it is not known what can be found beneath these layers, as there have not been any excavations deeper then 2 meters so far.

Trilobite fauna: In both layers the exact same variation of trilobites can be found. The only difference is in quantity. For example in the upper geode layer Walliserops with long tridents are more common then the ones with short tridents and in the lower geode layer it is the other way around. As of today finds of the following trilobites have been made at this location: Phacops (3 different species), Acastoides, Gerastos, Cornuproetus, Diademaproetus, Scutellum, Hollardops, Kayserops, Cyphaspis (with long and short genal spines), Homalonotus, Erbenochile, Psychopyge (3 different species), Walliserops (3 different species), Leonaspis and Sculptoproetus. In addition to that goniatites and brachiopods can also be found.

Additional Information: If you are interested to see this and other fascinating places for yourself, feel free to contact Ait Hssaine Hammi of Erfoud (email: zguilma@yahoo.fr). He is a renowned guide not only to the Devonian trilobite quarries in Southern Morocco. Emails in English or French, please! (Unless you can write in Berber! <g>)


2. Marokko - Alnif region and Jbel Issoumour

The next images are displayed here courtesy of Yinan (www.trilobia.com). The information about the exact location is limited, however I am still able to offer the reader some interesting sights. The images show the locality Timzarzit near Alnif and the famous Jbel Issoumour from which the giant phacopids as well as other special trilobites such as Psychopyge are known. The images date back to the year of 2005.

Geographical Situation : 20 km east of Alnif, locality Timarzit (Alnif 1-2) / north-eastern end of the Ma'der lowland, elevations reach up to 500 meters high stretching over several kilometers.

Age: Devonian

© all images of Alnif & Jbel Issoumour courtesy of Yinan (www.trilobia.com)

Additional Information: Thanks once more to Yinan for kindly allowing us to use his photographs on our website. He made these photographs during his journey to Morocco in spring 2005 when he visited several different localities in the Anti-Atlas.


Other photographs can be viewed on the subpage Specials. On this page we plan to show more Locatilities as well as other aspects of trilobites in the future.

Detailed descriptions of our journeys to the Palaeozoic of Southern Morocco, including many images, can be found in both our old and new forum. The place in which to look for are the sections "Fundstellen und -orte / Quarries" respectively. The aforeplaced links will lead you there (in German).

Morning
The calm of early morning close to the Algerian border

Recommend our web site!

Last Update : 01/30/2010 5:07 PM

Back to the top

Home - Introduction - Geologic Eras - Fossilization - Morphology - Reconstruction - Visual System - Enrolment - Moulting - Spines & Horns - Growth Stages - Feeding - Reproduction - Pathologies - Orders - Origins - Extinction - Quarries - Continental Drift - Preparation - Explorers - Mile Stones - Galleries - Guest Collection - Specials - Collecting - Fakes! - Best of Ebay - Documents - Literature - Poetry - Links - Other Fossils - Evolution - Creationism - Glossary - Guestbook - Forum - Imprint - Last Words! - About the Author

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Fundorte weltweit

Photographische Reise ins Paläozoikum

Leider sind im Internet nur wenige Bilder von den eigentlichen Fundorten der Trilobiten zu finden. Dabei ist es für jeden Interessierten und Sammler sicher eine schöne Sache, die Herkunft der geliebten Stücke einmal näher in Augenschein nehmen zu können. Wir wollen daher auf dieser Seite einige Photos ausstellen, die auf Reisen und Exkursionen in diese Gebiete gemacht wurden. Für alle hier gezeigten Aufnahmen liegt das Copyright bei Trilobita.de, bzw. dem Eigentümer der Originalaufnahmen.


1. Marokko - Jbel Gara el Zguilma, nahe Foum Zguid

Berühmt durch die Erstfunde von Trilobiten der Gattung Walliserops und dem von Richard Fortey erstmals weithin bekannt gemachten Erbenochile mit seinen wolkenkratzer-ähnlich aufragenden Augentürmen. Letzterer wurde in den unteren Geodenlagen gefunden.

Lage: Ca. 50 km süd-südöstlich der kleinen Stadt Foum Zguid im Süden Marokkos.

Alter: Devon, Emsium, Timrhanrhart Formation

Zguilma 1
Zguilma 1
Zguilma 2
Zguilma 2
Zguilma 3
Zguilma 3

Stratigraphie: Es werden hauptsächlich 2 unregelmäßige, horizontal liegende Geodenlagen abgegraben, die ca. 1,50 m auseinanderliegen. Die obere Schicht ist in dem dort verlaufenden trockenen Flußbett teilweise direkt an der Erdoberfläche erschlossen, dann aber stark angewittert und in sich gebrochen. Das Material der Geoden hat eine schmutziggelbe Farbe; die Schalen der dort gefundenen Trilobiten sind dunkelbraun. Zwischen den beiden Geodenlagen befinden sich weiche Mergel, die weitere sporadisch auftretende unregelmäßige Geoden beinhalten. Zur Zeit ist nicht bekannt, was unter diesen bis jetzt erschlossenen Schichten noch zu erwarten ist, da tiefer als ca. 2 m nicht gegraben wird.

Trilobitenfauna: In beiden Schichten wird die gleiche Trilobitenfauna gefunden. Es gibt nur Unterschiede in den Quantitäten. Beispielsweise finden sich in der oberen Geodenlage Walliserops mit langem Trident (Dreizack) häufiger als die selteneren Walliserops mit kurzem Trident; in der unteren Geodenlage ist es umgekehrt. Insgesamt an Trilobiten sind bis jetzt gefunden worden: Phacops (3 unterschiedliche Arten), Acastoides, Gerastos, Cornuproetus, Diademaproetus, Scutellum, Hollardops, Kayserops, Cyphaspis (mit langen und kurzen Wangenstacheln), Homalonotus, Erbenochile, Psychopyge (3 unterschiedliche Arten), Walliserops (3 unterschiedliche Arten), Leonaspis und Sculptoproetus. Außerdem Goniatiten und Brachiopoden.

Sonstiges: Wer diesen Fundort selbst einmal kennenlernen möchte, wende sich an Ait Hssaine Hammi (email: zguilma@yahoo.fr). Er ist ein sehr guter Kenner devonischer Trilobiten-Fundpunkte im Süden Marokkos. Emails bitte in Englisch oder Französisch


2. Marokko - Region Alnif und Jbel Issoumour

Die folgenden Aufnahmen wurden mir freundlicherweise von Yinan (www.trilobia.com) zur Nutzung überlassen. Hier liegen mir nur beschränkte Informationen zu den genauen Lokalitäten vor, ich denke aber es sind trotzdem ein paar interessante Anblicke. Sie zeigen die bekannten Fundorte Timarzit in der Nähe von Alnif und den berühmten Jbel Issoumour, von dem dir großen Riesenphacopiden und andere besondere Trilobiten wie Psychopyge und andere bekannt sind. Die Aufnahmen stammen aus 2005.

Lage: 20 km östlich von Alnif, Fundstelle Timarzit (Alnif 1-2) / nordwestliches Ende der Ma'der Tiefebene, bis zu 500 m hohe Erhebungen über mehrere Kilometer. (Jbel Issoumour 1-4)

Alter: Devon

© all images of Alnif & Jbel Issoumour courtesy of Yinan (www.trilobia.com)

Sonstiges: Wir danken noch einmal Yinan für die freundliche Genehmigung zur Nutzung seiner Photos auf unserer Webseite. Er hat sie anläßlich einer Reise nach Marokko im Frühjahr 2005 aufgenommen, die ihn zu verschiedenen Grabungsstellen im Anti-Atlas geführt hat.


Weitere Fotos sind auf der Unterseite Specials zu sehen. Dort werden wir zukünftig andere Fundpunkte zeigen sowie weiteren Aspekten rund um unsere Trilobiten nachgehen.

Detaillierte Reisebeschreibungen nach Marokko mit vielen Bildern aus den Jahren 2006, 2008 und 2009 finden Sie auch in unserem alten und neuen Forum unter den jeweiligen Rubriken "Fundstellen und -orte". Die vorgeschalteten Links führen direkt zu den entsprechenden Abteilungen (deutsch).

Morgenstimmung
Morgenstimmung nahe der algerischen Grenze

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: 30.01.2010 16:46

Zurück zum Seitenanfang

Startseite - Einführung - Erdzeitalter - Fossilisation - Morphologie - Rekonstruktion - Sehapparat - Einrollung - Häutung - Bestachelung - Wachstum - Ernährung - Reproduktion - Pathologie - Ordnungen - Ursprünge - Aussterben - Fundorte - Kontinentaldrift - Präparation - Entdecker - Meilensteine - Galerien - Gastsammlung - Specials - Sammeln - Fälschungen! - Best of Ebay - Dokumente - Literatur - Lyrik - Links - andere Fossilien - Evolution - Kreationismus - Glossar - Gästebuch - Forum - Impressum - Das Allerletzte! - Über den Autor