Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
The chronicle of a fascination

Milestones of trilobitology

In each field of science we can pinpoint discoveries and events which had a deciding influence on the entire development of gaining knowledge on a particular subject as a whole. On this page, we would like to list some of those events in chronological order.

~ ~ ~

Ogygiocarella debuchii1698 - The reverend Dr. Edward Lhywd, in a letter to his friend Martin Lister, reports on his discovery of the fossilized skeleton of what he believes to be a flatfish in limestones close to the town of Llandeilo in the south of Wales. In later years that "flatfish" turns out to be what is now known as the trilobite Ogygiocarella debuchii, frequently found in Ordovician rocks of the British Isles. Lhywd's letter represents the first mentioning of a fossil in writing that can be assigned to trilobites.

1771 - German scholar Johann Ernst Immanuel Walch recognizes for the first time that trilobites represent a seperate class of extinct arthropods and names it after its distinctive basic morphology "trilobitae" (three lobes). It will take many years, though, until this term (amended to "trilobita") prevails in nomenclature.

One of Barrande's plates1832 - Joachim Barrande, while supervising a construction site between Prague and Pilsen, stumbles upon the fossilized remains of trilobites. Barrande becomes fascinated with those fossils and decides to commit himself to the exploration of the fossilized faunas of Bohemia. He publishes 22 fantastic volumes on the Silurian, describing a countless number of trilobites, ammonites, brachiopods and molluscs.

1839 - Sir Roderick Murchison publishes his major work "The Silurian System", containing sketches of trilobites which he believes can serve as a means to determine the age of rocks. It is the first time that trilobites are used as indicator fossils.

1876 - Charles D. Walcott, while digging for fossils at Trenton Falls, N. Y., discovers trilobites with antennas and limbs, preserved by particlar environmental conditions during diagenesis. For the first time, scientists get an idea of the morphology of the entire animal.

1893 - W. D. Matthew, a Ph. D. student, discovers a trilobite with preserved antennas during an excavation close to the city of Rome, N. Y. Professor Beecher of Yale University recognizes the importance of the find. The quarry now known as Beecher's trilobite bed yields many complete trilobites with their extremities preserved by pyrite replacement. Beecher publishes three papers describing a trilobite larval form, trilobite limbs and trilobite ventral anatomy from material collected from the site he established.

Charles D. Walcott1909 - Charles D. Walcott discovers, albeit more by accident, the Konservat-Lagerst├Ątte of the Burgess Shale in British Columbia. This quarry yields trilobites and many other yet unknown organisms from the Middle Cambrian, often with soft body parts preserved.

1933 - German scholar Rudolf Kaufmann of Greifswald University researches into trilobites of the genus Olenus from Late Cambrian alum shales in Sweden. By closely investigating their evolutionary development over time he sets a milestone for the concept of allopatric speciation.

1959 - First publication of the "Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Arthropoda 1, Trilobitomorpha". It immediately becomes the standard work of reference in the field of trilobitology.

Alberti's major work on the trilobite faunas of Morocco1969 - German scholar Gerhard K. B. Alberti publishes his great work "Trilobiten des j├╝ngeren Siluriums sowie des Unter- und Mitteldevons" (Trilobites from the Late Silurian, Lower and Middle Devonian). A supplement is published just one year later, a second and third supplement in the years to follow. It represents the first large monograph of the trilobite faunas of Southern Morocco, gaining importance with the growing popularity of trilobites from that part of the world. It is still a major reference.

1971 - Niles Eldredge and Stephen J. Gould publish their thesis on the concept of "punctuated equilibrium" in the evolutionary development of trilobites and other extinct animals and follow in the footsteps of pioneer Rudolf Kaufmann when addressing the subject of allopatric speciation.

Isotelus rex1997 - Harry B. Whittington, Richard A. Fortey et al. release the first revision of the trilobite treatise: "Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Trilobita 1, Revised". It is the first of three parts (the latter two having not been published more than 10 years later) and deals only with the orders of Agnostida and Redlichiida.

2000 - Canadian scientists, while on excursion in the vicinity of Hudson Bay in the Canadian province of Manitoba, stumble upon the fossilized remains of the largest trilobite ever found. It measures 72 cms. This Ordovician trilobite, roughly 440 million years of age, represents a yet undescribed species and is later on described as Isotelus rex.

Last Update : 12/12/2010 1:26 PM

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Die Chronik einer Faszination

Meilensteine der Trilobitenforschung

Auf jedem Forschungsgebiet gab und gibt es Ereignisse, die für die anschliessende Entwicklung von entscheidender Bedeutung waren und sind. Auf dieser Seite sind einige dieser Ereignisse in chronologischer Reihenfolge aufgelistet.
~ ~ ~

Ogygiocarella debuchii1698 - Der Reverend Dr. Edward Lhwyd schreibt an seinen Freund Martin Lister, er habe in Kalksteinen bei der südwalisischen Stadt Llandeilo das Skelett eines Plattfischs gefunden. Der "Plattfisch" entpuppte sich in späterer Zeit als der heute als Ogygiocarella debuchii bekannte Trilobit, der in ordovizischen Gesteinen der britischen Inseln häufiger anzutreffen ist. Es handelt sich hierbei um die erste schriftliche Erwähnung eines Fossilfundes, der eindeutig den Trilobiten zuzuordnen ist.

1771 - Der deutsche Gelehrte Johann Ernst Immanuel Walch erkennt, daß die Trilobiten eine eigene Klasse bilden, und gibt ihr den Namen "Trilobitae" (Dreilapper). Es wird aber noch viele Jahre dauern, bis sich dieser treffende Begriff (abgewandelt zu "Trilobita") allgemein durchgesetzt haben wird.

Bildtafel nach Barrande1832 - Joachim Barrande entdeckt bei der Vorplanung für Bauarbeiten im böhmischen Skryje die fossilen Überreste von Trilobiten. Seine anschließenden Forschungen finden ihren Höhepunkt in einem 22-bändigen Werk über die böhmischen Silur-Fossilien.

1839 - Sir Roderick Murchison veröffentlicht sein Werk "The Silurian System“, in dem Trilobiten abgebildet sind und zur Altersbestimmung von Gesteinsschichten herangezogen werden.

1876 - Charles D. Walcott entdeckt durch Funde bei Trenton Falls im U.S.-Bundesstaat New York erste Hinweise auf das Aussehen der bislang unbekannten Gliedmaßen der Trilobiten. Diese waren durch besondere Umweltbedingungen in Umrissen kalzifiziert worden.

1893 - Im Utica-Schiefer bei der Stadt Rome im U.S.-Bundesstaat New York entdeckt der Doktorand W. D. Matthew einen Trilobiten mit erhaltenen Antennen. Professor Beecher von der Yale University erkennt die Bedeutung des Fundes. In der nachfolgend als "Beecher-Trilobitenhorizont" bezeichneten Fundstelle finden sich in goldfarbenem Pyrit konservierte Trilobiten mit vollständigen Extremitäten. Beecher publizierte später drei Arbeiten, in denen er nicht nur die Larvenformen der dort anzutreffenden Trilobiten beschrieb, sondern auch ihre Extremitäten und die morphologische Ausgestaltung der gesamten Ventralseite der Trilobiten.

Charles D. Walcott1909 - Charles D. Walcott entdeckt eher zufällig die Fossillagerstätte des Burgess-Schiefers in British Columbia, in dem Trilobiten und andere Tiere mit Weichteilen erhalten geblieben sind.

1933 - Der Deutsche Rudolf Kaufmann von der Universität Greifswald untersucht Trilobiten der Gattung Olenus im Alaunschiefer des späten Kambriums in Schweden und beweist durch genaue Untersuchungen die allopatrische Artbildung, bevor dieses Konzept allgemein anerkannt wird.

1959 - Die "Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Part O, Arthropoda 1, Trilobitomorpha" erscheint erstmalig und etabliert sich umgehend als das Standardwerk zum Thema.

Abhandlung von Alberti1969 - Gerhard K. B. Alberti veröffentlicht sein Standardwerk "Trilobiten des jüngeren Siluriums sowie des Unter- und Mitteldevons". Ein Jahr später folgt ein zweiter Teil, weitere Teile folgen. Es handelt sich um die ersten großen Monographien über die marokkanische Trilobitenfauna, die mit den Jahren und der zunehmenden Popularität der Trilobiten aus dem Anti-Atls von Marokko immer größere Bedeutung erlangt hat. Auch heute noch dient es als Referenzwerk für die Bestimmung von Funden aus diesem Teil der Welt.

1971 - Niles Eldredge und Stephen J. Gould präsentieren ihre These des "unterbrochenen Gleichgewichts" (punctuated equilibrium) in der Entwicklung der Trilobiten und anderer Lebewesen und die allopatrische Artbildung. Sie folgen damit der Pionierarbeit von Kaufmann.

Isotelus rex1997 - Harry B. Whittington, Richard A. Fortey u. a. veröffentlichen das überarbeitete Standardwerk zum Thema Trilobiten: "Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, Teil O, Trilobita 1, Revised". Es beschäftigt sich im Bezug auf Ordnungen jedoch nur mit den Agnostida und Redlichiida. Weitere Teile sollen folgen.

2000 - Kanadische Wissenschaftler entdecken in der Nähe der Hudson Bay in der Provinz Manitoba den größten bislang bekannten Trilobiten. Mit 72 Zentimetern Länge gehört dieser neue, auf ca. 440 Millionen Jahre geschätzte Fund einer bislang offensichtlich noch unbekannten Art an (mittlerweile erkannt als Isotelus rex).

Letzte Aktualisierung: Sonntag, 12.12.2010 13:26