Logo

German English

Home
Introduction
Geologic Eras
Fossilization
Morphology
Reconstruction
Visual System
Enrolment
Moulting
Spines & Horns
Growth Stages
Feeding
Reproduction
Pathologies
Orders
Origins
Extinction
Quarries
Continental Drift
Preparation
Explorers
Milestones
Galleries
Guest Collection
Specials
Collecting
Fakes!
Best of Ebay
Documents
Literature
Trilobite Poetry
Trilobite Links
Other Fossils
Evolution
Creationism
Glossary
Guestbook
Forum
Imprint
Last Words !
About The Author

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Change of suit

How trilobites grew

Selenopeltis sp.During their lifetime, trilobites not only went through three different stages of distinctive morphologies (protaspid, meraspid and holaspid stages) but, with age, also grew considerably in size. Just as modern crustaceans with their chitinous carapace need to shed their old armours every once in a while to allow their bodies to develop in size and shape, our Palaeozoic friends were forced to periodically dispose of their rigid calcite exoskeleton and construct an entirely new and bigger one. In order to allow such a “change of suit” the trilobite’s head shield was equipped with a series of predetermined breaking points, the so-called facial sutures.

Different types of facial suturesOnce the old carapace became too tight for the animal to proceed in its bodily development it was time to moult. The scientific name for this process is ‘ecdysis’. Just like today’s crustaceans, the animal would try to find a protected place in which it could shed its armour without facing too big a risk of its temporary vulnerability being exploited by enemy predators. Specific hormones seem to have played a major part in jump-starting the process. The facial sutures, which have been classified into three different types (proparian, gonatoparian and opisthoparian - defined by where the sutures end, relative to the genal angle of the cephalic shield) started to break open. The following line drawing portrays the opisthoparian sutures in the trilobite genus Xystridura, the suture type being determined by the fact that its end is clearly positioned along the hind cephalic margin. In a proparian type, the suture would end forward of the genal angel while in a gonatoparian suture the end would be positioned right at the genal angle of the cephalic shield (see image to the right)..

The reconditioning of the trilobite exoskeleton after moulting seems to have been a rather accelerated process. As we already noted in another chapter on this website: For all arthropods shedding their armour is a time of extreme vulnerability. Some scientists assume that the trilobite secreted a thin prismatic layer first, with a very thin primary layer underneath, in order to build a first line of defence. As secretion proceeded, the primary layer became thicker and thicker (MILLER & CLARKSON, 1980). This seems to indicate that the prismatic outer layer might have been the more easy part to build. More information on the structure and composition of the trilobite carapace can be found on our morphology page.

Apart from being a reasonable protection against drilling organisms, it must have been very resilient against pressure applied in a vertical way. On the other hand it may have been vulnerable to shearing forces and distortions. Resulting cracks would have run all through the prismatic layer until stopped by the underlying primary layer. It therefore appears imperative that with every reconditioning of the exoskeleton after moulting, both the prismatic and the primary layer had to be rebuilt simulatenously. The “anti-crack” function of the primary layer is usually preserved even in the fossilized animal – every preparator has seen parts of the outer layer disintegrate under an unfortunate hit whilst the primary stayed unimpressed and intact.


vor dem Zerfalllnach dem Zerfall

Disintegration of the cephalic shield in the typical Redlichioid trilobite Xystridura during moulting (ventral view). The shield breaks up into cranidium, free cheeks (librigenae), rostral plate (pink) and hypostome. The latter may have stayed attached to the rostral plate in this genus. Line drawing courtesy of Dr. Sam Gon , © 1999, 2000 by S. M. Gon III

As shown in Sam’s superb line drawing above, the cephalic shield disintegrates into a whole range of individual parts, namely a pair of free cheeks or librigenae (actually, that is why they are called “free cheeks” in the first place) and the cranidium (comprised of the glabella and fixed cheeks) as well as the ventrally positioned rostral plate and hypostome. It is evident that the surface of the visual system was renewed like the rest of the carapace, allowing the trilobite to recuperate from any previously impaired eyesight (development of a new cornea). Depending on the running of the sutures, the visual surface stayed with the free cheeks or remained with the cranidium. The following two images are good examples of disintegrating cephalic shields in some common trilobites. We cannot be absolutely sure that these particular fossils actually represent disposed of shields. However, they show the different runnings of the facial sutures and the integration of the visual surface in the process of moulting.


Flexicalymene retrorsaXenasaphus (Delphasaphus) delphinus

left: Xenaspahus (Delphasaphus) delphinus (LAWROW, 1856), Ordovician, Wolchow River, St. Petersburg: In this specimen the right free cheek has completely detached, taking along the eye’s visual surface. The running of this suture classifies as opisthoparian as its end is clearly positioned along the hind cephalic margin.

right: Flexicalymene retrorsa (FOERSTE, 1910), Ordovician, Arnheim Formation, Cincinnati, Ohio: The facial sutures are easy to recognize.Both free cheeks have begun to separate from the cranidium. The running of the suture classifies as gonatoparian as it ends right at the genal angle.

Once the cephalic shield had disintegrated, the trilobite used this “exit” to completely dispose of its old carapace by squeezing its entire body, including its legs, forward through the opening. If the animal was equipped with genal and/or pygidial spines, it may have used the latter to support this arduous effort by planting them into the sea floor and likewise anchoring downward the anterior part of the cephalic shield. Dr. Sam Gon has created a simplified but nevertheless very vivid animation of this process, using an early Redlichiid trilobite as an example. Of course, there may be other explanations for the existence of spines in general and genal spines in particular, apart from their potential use of assisting in moulting (see this subpage).

Even if a spiny morphology was conducive to the process of moulting, common trilobites like Phacops and Asaphus would not have been able to make any use of it as these genera lacked spines in the first place. In addition their facial sutures were inseparably fused. Therefore they must have found other ways to shed their carapaces and used other routines of movement to support their escape from the obsolete exoskeleton. The 1959 Treatise contains relevant sketches of how the popular Phacops might have exited from its old shell. (Salterian Mode).

After shedding its old exoskeleton the trilobite most likely used to hide away in its retreat until the new carapace had achieved an adequate state of hardness by absorbing a sufficient amount of calcium carbonate from the surrounding sea water (mineralisation).

Animation des Häutungsvorganges
Animation courtesy of Dr. Sam Gon
© 1999, 2000 by S. M. Gon III
Adapted from Whittington, 1990 via the 1997 Treatise (p. 156-7)

It would appear that trilobites had to go through the process of moulting quite frequently. Chances are that a huge amount of fossilized trilobite remains are but the shed exoskeletons (excuvia) rather than the remains of the actual animal at its time of death. However, this consideration does not necessarily have an effect on the value of a specific fossil unless significant and essential parts of the carapce are completely missing.

Recommend our web site!

Last Update : 01/30/2010 5:04 PM

Back to the top

Home - Introduction - Geologic Eras - Fossilization - Morphology - Reconstruction - Visual System - Enrolment - Moulting - Spines & Horns - Growth Stages - Feeding - Reproduction - Pathologies - Orders - Origins - Extinction - Quarries - Continental Drift - Preparation - Explorers - Mile Stones - Galleries - Guest Collection - Specials - Collecting - Fakes! - Best of Ebay - Documents - Literature - Poetry - Links - Other Fossils - Evolution - Creationism - Glossary - Guestbook - Forum - Imprint - Last Words! - About the Author

Logo

German English

Startseite
Einführung
Erdzeitalter
Fossilisation
Morphologie
Rekonstruktion
Sehapparat
Einrollung
Häutung
Bestachelung
Wachstum
Ernährung
Reproduktion
Pathologie
Ordnungen
Ursprünge
Aussterben
Fundorte
Kontinentaldrift
Präparation
Entdecker
Meilensteine
Galerien
Gastsammlung
Specials
selbst sammeln
Fälschungen!
Best of Ebay
Dokumente
Literatur
Trilo-Lyrik
Trilo-Links
andere Fossilien
Evolution
Kreationismus
Glossar
Gästebuch
Forum
Impressum
Das Allerletzte!
Über den Autor

Neues


Trilobita-Banner
Zum aus der Haut fahren !

Wie Trilobiten wuchsen

Selenopeltis sp.Trilobiten durchliefen während ihres Lebenszykluses nicht nur verschiedene Stadien mit unterschiedlicher Morphologie (Protaspis, Meraspis, Holaspis), sie wurden natürlich mit zunehmendem Alter auch größer. Wie die modernen Krustentiere mit ihrem harten Chitinpanzer waren daher auch unsere paläozoischen Freunde mit ihrem kalzitischen Außenskelett gezwungen ihre äußere Hülle in regelmäßigen Abständen abzuwerfen und durch eine neue zu ersetzen. Zu diesem Zweck besaßen sie - vor allem an ihrem Kopfschild - eine Reihe von Sollbruchstellen, die sogenannten Gesichtsnähte oder Suturae (Facial-Sutur).

Arten von GesichtsnähtenWenn der alte Panzer zu eng geworden und die Zeit zur Häutung oder Ecdysis gekommen war, zogen sich unsere Arthropoden daher wenn möglich - analog zu rezenten Krustentieren - an einen geschützten Ort zurück. Es ist wahrscheinlich, daß spezielle Häutungshormone den Beginn des Prozesses betreffend eine erhebliche Rolle spielten. Die Gesichtsnähte, die man heute in drei verschiedene Typen einteilt, begannen aufzuplatzen, wobei der Typ durch den hinteren Mündungspunkt der Gesichtsnaht in Bezug auf das Wangeneck bestimmt wird. Es gibt propare, gonatopare und opisthopare Nähte. In der nachfolgenden schematischen Darstellung (Xystridura, unten) haben wir einen Trilobiten mit opisthoparen Gesichtsnähten vor uns, da der hintere Mündungspunkt der Gesichtsnähte eindeutig hinter dem Wangeneck (in diesem Fall der Spitze des Wangenstachels) liegt. "Hinter" bezieht sich hier nicht auf die exsagittale Positionierung sondern ist auf den Verlauf des Cephalonrandes bezogen!

Die Neubildung des Trilobitenpanzers nach einer Häutung lief wahrscheinlich sehr schnell ab, da ein Arthropode nach diesem Vorgang völlig ungeschützt war. Einige Wissenschaftler nehmen an, daß daher zuerst eine dünne prismatische Schicht sekretiert wurde, die nur eine ebenfalls sehr dünne Primärschicht überlagerte. Damit wurde ein erster behelfsmäßiger Schutz aufgebaut. Mit Fortschreiten der Sekretion wurde die Primärschicht dann Lage für Lage dicker aufgebaut (MILLER & CLARKSON, 1980). Dies scheint anzudeuten, daß die prismatische Schicht sehr einfach und schnell aufzubauen war.

Die prismatische Schicht könnte auch ein guter Schutz gegen bohrende Organismen gewesen sein. Sie war darüber hinaus wahrscheinlich äußerst stabil gegen Duckkräfte, die normal auf den Panzer einwirkten, jedoch sehr schwach gegen Scherkräfte. Dadurch ausgelöste Brüche würden sich ungehindert von Kristall zu Kristall durchziehen und erst von der Primärschicht gestoppt werden. Allein daraus ergibt sich bereits die Notwendigkeit, daß bei der Neubildung eines Panzers nach der Häutung sowohl eine prismatische als auch eine dünne Primärschicht parallel aufgebaut werden mussten. Die bruchhemmende Wirkung der Primärschicht kann sich übrigens über Jahrmillionen hinweg unverändert erhalten. Das kann jeder bezeugen, der Trilobiten selbst sammelt und präpariert: Während die äußere prismatische Schicht beim Fundschlag sehr oft zu Schaden kommt, bleibt die Primärschicht in der Regel tadellos erhalten. ;-) Nähere Infos zum Aufbau des Trilobitenpanzers finden sich neuerdings auch auf der Unterseite Morphologie.


vor dem Zerfalllnach dem Zerfall

Zerfall des Kopfschildes eines Trilobiten am Beispiel des typischen redlichioiden Trilobiten Xystridura (ventrale Sichtweise!) Das Cephalon zerfällt in Cranidium, Freiwangen, Rostralplatte (pink) und Hypostom, wobei es bei dieser Gattung sein kann, daß das Hypostom auch beim Zerfall mit der Rostralplatte verbunden blieb. - Line drawing courtesy of Dr. Sam Gon, © 1999, 2000 by S. M. Gon III

Wie in der obigen Zeichnung dargestellt, zerfiel das Kopfschild oder Cephalon zumeist in eine ganze Reihe von Bruchstücken, von denen die wesentlichen die beiden Freiwangen (Librigenae) und das Cranidium waren (bestehend aus Glabella und Festwangen) sowie die Rostralplatte und das ventralseitig positionierte Hypostom. Auch die Oberfläche des Sehapparates wurde bei den meisten Gattungen (Ausnahmen: z. B. die Vertreter der Harpetida und manche aus der Ordnung der Asaphida aufgrund andersartiger Nahtverläufe) mit abgesprengt, was sicher den Vorteil hatte, daß die Sicht bei jeder Häutung wieder erheblich verbessert wurde (Erneuerung der Hornhaut). Nachfolgend zwei Fotos, die diesen Vorgang etwas verdeutlichen. Bei den in den Aufnahmen gezeigten Panzern handelt es sich nicht notwendigerweise um Exkuvien, sie sollen lediglich den Verlauf der Gesichtsnähte und das Abtrennen der Augenoberfläche verdeutlichen.


Flexicalymene retrorsaXenasaphus (Delphasaphus) delphinus

rechts: Flexicalymene retrorsa (FOERSTE, 1910), Ordovizium, Arnheim Formation, Cincinnati, Ohio: Deutlich sind die Gesichtsnähte zu erkennen. Die rechte Freiwange liegt bereits etwas abgelöst vor. Der Verlauf der Gesichtsnaht weist diese als eine gonatopare Naht aus, da sie im Wangeneck mündet.

links: Xenaspahus (Delphasaphus) delphinus (LAWROW, 1856), Ordovizium, Wolchow-Fluß, St. Petersburg: Die rechte Freiwange ist bei diesem Exemplar bereits vollständig abgelöst. Deutlich ist die mitabgetrennte Augenoberfläche zu erkennen. Der Verlauf der Gesichtsnaht zeigt den Typ an; es handelt sich um eine opisthopare Naht.

War das Kopfschild erst einmal in seine Einzelteile zerlegt, zwängte sich der Trilobit samt Beinen durch den so entstandenen "Ausgang" aus seinem alten Panzer nach vorne heraus. Dabei kamen ihm eventuell vorhandene Stachelfortsätze am Cephalon und Pygidium zustatten, mit denen er sich im Substrat abstützen konnte. Dr. Sam Gon hat dazu eine vereinfachte, aber sehr anschauliche Animation erstellt, die diesen Vorgang beispielhaft an einem Trilobiten der Ordnung Redlichiida deutlich macht. Natürlich gibt es für die Stachel allgemein und die Wangenstachel insbesondere auch andere Deutungsversuche (siehe hierzu auch: Bestachelung).

Natürlich können sich beispielsweise die Vertreter der Gattungen Phacops oder Asaphus nicht auf diese Art gehäutet haben, da bei Phacops die Gesichtsnähte untrennbar miteinander verschmolzen waren, bzw. beiden genannten Gattungen Stachelfortsätze, in der Form wie sie hier gezeigt werden, fehlten. Hier müssen andersartige Bewegungsabläufe, wie sie auch bei rezenten Crustaceen zu beobachten sind, zum gleichen Ziel geführt haben. Skizzen dazu sind unter anderem in der Treatise von 1959 zu finden (Saltersche Einbettung)

Nach dem Häutungsvorgang mußte der Trilobit einige Zeit - wenn er Glück hatte in einem sicheren Versteck - ausharren bis die jetzt weiche Außenhaut sich durch Aufnahme von Kalziumkarbonat aus dem Meerwasser wieder zu einer harten Schale mineralisiert hatte.

Animation des Häutungsvorganges
Animation courtesy of Dr. Sam Gon
© 1999, 2000 by S. M. Gon III
Adapted from Whittington, 1990 via the 1997 Treatise (p. 156-7)

.Der Vorgang der Häutung wurde von den Trilobiten des Paläozoikums häufig durchlaufen. Bei den meisten fossilien Überresten mag es sich daher um Häutungsreste (Exkuvien) handeln, und nicht um den eigentlichen Trilobiten zum Zeitpunkt seines Todes. Dies ist aber kein Faktor, der sich auf die Wertigkeit eines Fossils auswirkt, es sei denn daß wesentliche Teile überhaupt nicht mehr vorhanden sind.

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter!

Letzte Aktualisierung: Mittwoch, 03.10.2012 14:43

Zurück zum Seitenanfang

Startseite - Einführung - Erdzeitalter - Fossilisation - Morphologie - Rekonstruktion - Sehapparat - Einrollung - Häutung - Bestachelung - Wachstum - Ernährung - Reproduktion - Pathologie - Ordnungen - Ursprünge - Aussterben - Fundorte - Kontinentaldrift - Präparation - Entdecker - Meilensteine - Galerien - Gastsammlung - Specials - Sammeln - Fälschungen! - Best of Ebay - Dokumente - Literatur - Lyrik - Links - andere Fossilien - Evolution - Kreationismus - Glossar - Gästebuch - Forum - Impressum - Das Allerletzte! - Über den Autor